Chutney is good. Negative 17 is bad.

So this is the third day that Justin’s classes have been cancelled because his school is closed due to dangerous temperatures. I am so jealous. Yesterday, when it was only -10, my breath steamed up into my eyes (the only uncovered part of my body) and then instantly froze to the lashes. Hence, freezing my EYES SHUT. I don’t want to talk about this anymore.

There was some happiness yesterday. I am completely obsessed with cranberries. I have been eating them non-stop for a couple months. I am wondering if there is some vitamin in them that my body is craving during the cold, sunless months. So I mentioned this to my friend Dan, who is also craving the cran. He sent me a cranberry chutney recipe that is delicious! And the ingredients were really pretty. The star of the production was the smell in the house as the chutney cooked down. Can I upload smell yet? It is 2009, and we should have that capability.

So thanks to Dan for the recipe. And also for still being my friend somehow. When we met 11 years ago, we both had purple hair and combat boots. Now I blog about vacuums and recipes.

Here are the pretty berries and the other ingredients in this mix. Too Thanksgivingy? Nah. Is too delicious to eat only one day of the year.

Daily Picture 011509

They look almost as happy as summer strawberries...if you squint.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Just went into the pot. Waiting to pop.

Just went into the pot. Waiting to pop.

Couldn't resist adding some orange zest.

Couldn't resist adding some orange zest.

Final addition of apples and celery. Do not freak out about celery. It is for texture, not taste.

Final addition of apples and celery. Do not freak out about celery. It is for texture, not taste.

Cranberry Chutney

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Cranberries 12oz Bag
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Golden Raisins
  • 2 teaspoons Cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon Ginger (I forgot to get this, and added orange zest)
  • 3/4 teaspoon Cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon Allspice
  • 1 cup Water
  • 1 cup Apples Chopped
  • 1/2 cup Celery Chopped

Directions:

  1. Cook all ingredients except chopped apples and celery uncovered in 2 quart pan on medium heat for about 15 minutes or until juice is released.
  2. Add celery and apples.
  3. Simmer until thick.
  4. Refrigerate for about 8 hours.
One response to “Chutney is good. Negative 17 is bad.

  1. YUMMMMM can you bring some in to work for sampling?

Leave a Reply

