Hope.

Yesterday, I had a dentist appointment in the late afternoon, so I got to come home on the train a little early. As I was walking home from the train at about 3:45, I had a sudden burst of happiness. It was still light out on my walk home! This hasn’t happened for months. Yes, I was cheating by a couple hours. But this early arrival allowed me to remember that the days will get longer, there will be a few hours of daylight left when I get home from work, and it will get warmer….someday. The whole idea of sun after work, made me remember how awesome the long days of summer are in Chicago. As my mind raced with thoughts of sandals, dining on patios, and opening up my windows, I almost forgot that it was the coldest day I had ever lived on the planet.

Here is my walk home in the light of day:

About to turn the final corner. If you squint and just look at the sunny blue sky, you can imagine what it may be like in June. Kind of.

About to turn the final corner. If you squint and just look at the sunny blue sky, you can imagine what it may be like in June. Kind of.

This is when I started thinking about patios. I am not delusional. Squint.

This is when I started thinking about patios. I am not delusional. Squint.

In the shade, but the spark had already been ignited. Thinking about farmer's market tomatoes by now.

In the shade now, but the spark had already ignited the imagination. Thinking about farmer's market tomatoes by now.

Oh man! Remember when you could eat lunch outside by the river? And it was actually too hot? I vow never to complain about being too hot again.

Oh man! Remember when you could eat lunch outside by the river? And it was actually too hot? I vow never to complain about being too hot again.

Brunch outside! Street festivals! Green grass!

Brunch outside! Street festivals! Green grass!

(I am a bit silly, but I like to ring the doorbell when I get home so Justin answers the door to greet me.) Roof decks! Window shopping! Porpus laying by the peonies in the sun!

(I am a bit silly, but I like to ring the doorbell when I get home so Justin answers the door to greet me.) Roof decks! Window shopping! Porpus laying by the peonies in the sun!

"Is coming home your happiness today?" Trees with leaves! Parks! Dogs walking without boots on! Margaritas!

"Is coming home your happiness today?" Trees with leaves! Parks! Dogs walking without boots on! Margaritas!

Thanks for walking home with me.

5 responses to “Hope.

  1. I love this post!! You made happy out of misery! You are so smart!

  2. I’m going to make you prove your vow to never complain that it’s too hot to do something this summer.

  3. A beautiful day in a beautiful neighborhood.

  4. Pingback: Countdown to City-wide Mayhem « MegaGood

  5. Pingback: Who Is Sick Of Foliage Pictures? « MegaGood

Leave a Reply

