I <3 Garlic

Almost everyday after work I go to the kitchen and pull a couple cloves off the garlic bunch. Then I chop them up and get them cooking with some onions. This happens before I really know what I am cooking. Just seems like everything works with garlic and olive oil. The onions are my new love, but they will never beat garlic.

Onion skins are just about the prettiest things I throw away everyday. Most of the time they are discarded so quickly, no one notices them. They remind me of really delicate translucent handmade paper. They catch the light in an amazing glow-pearly kind of way. One of the best drawings I have ever done was of a giant onion in a still life back in school. Where is that thing?…(5-10 min later break) Holy crap! I couldn’t find the onion skin drawing BUT I did find another drawing I did freshman year of college. I can draw? Totally forgot about this. Need to revisit.

garlic

Little nugget of heaven. LOVE the crunchy papery sound of pulling the cloves off the bunch.

Little nugget of heaven. LOVE the crunchy papery sound of pulling the cloves off the bunch.

If they made paper like this, I would have printed my wedding invitations on it. And creative briefs. And grocery lists.

If they made paper like this, I would have printed my wedding invitations on it. And creative briefs. And grocery lists.

I used to draw stuff!!?!

I used to draw stuff!!?!

9 responses to “I <3 Garlic

  1. I love your bog girl! I’m sorry I haven’t been posting! I’ve just been working and studying my ass off. Grrrrrrrr!

  2. Megu <3’s Macro Focus

  3. You need to get back into this I see potential in your future career as an artist!

  4. Pingback: Pressure « MegaGood

  5. You CAN draw, girl! I would so frame that and hang it up in my house.

    I remember my figure drawing class in college. First half was clothed models…last part of semester were nudes…my first exposure (pardon the pun) to a total stranger posing nude. Despite the initial shock, I actually did some nice drawings of the model. My Mom didn’t believe the model was as…ahem…well endowed as I drew her. She thought I had taken “artistic liberties” and enlarged them. Then she saw my best friend’s sketch pad from the same class. That silenced her!

  6. Hey Megan,

    Did you shoot those garlic cloves in available light? The shots are really nice. What kind of camera are you using?

    • The garlic is shot in my kitchen with the available light using a Canon Rebel Xsi 18-55 lens. I am dying to get a macro lens for food and flowers.

  7. Pingback: 17 weeks Turnip Bump “Glump” « MegaGood

Leave a Reply

