Brown Paper Packages Tied Up with String

What is better than coming home to an unexpected package in the mail? Cookies within! And homemade beef jerky, hand knit hat, CHAPSTICK!!, and a delicious citrus candle. My mom-in-law Donna sends us goody packages throughout the year for holidays and special occasions. The Valentines one we received today had ample love in it. The only thing that compares to getting one of these in the mail, is when my grandma used to send me cookies when I was in school. She somehow would get the peanut butter inside the middle of a chocolate cake style cookie. People would show up in my dorm room with glasses of milk. Just there to “hang out…” with my cookies.

If you would like to be featured in a Daily Happiness photo…please mail a plum cake, pecan bars or a variety of artisan cheeses at your earliest convenience. I just spelled CONVENIENCE all by myself!

Chapstick in foreground is my hero. Frosted cookies are melt in your mouth buttery.

Chapstick in foreground is my hero. Frosted cookies are melt in your mouth buttery.

Porpus immediately got up on the table to check out the Mercutio-the-dog-scented box on the table. To her joy (torment?) she found a piece of yarn that was to her liking. She wore it for about 45 minutes while I cooked dinner. Please don’t tell her it makes her look fat.

full

These are a few of my favorite things

These are a few of my favorite things

I was so happy to be back in my kitchen instead of eating thai/pizza/chinese food at a conference table with overhead lighting and un-washed creatives, that I have to upload a bonus photo of happiness for the day. My produce plate! Oh, happy produce plate. The attractive Lemons and Pears are so nice to let Garlic sit at the cool kids table. Garlic feels really lumpy next to Tomato, and would prefer not to be judged on looks alone.

Bonus!

Bonus!

I almost uploaded a picture of a whole new pile of chapstick that I bought today. 6 different varietals! But I will keep it to myself, as you have already been subjected to that enough for one year.

2 responses to “Brown Paper Packages Tied Up with String

  1. A few weeks ago, when it was -4, our apartment was cold enough that Bowie started shivering. I wrapped my scarf around him. Normally he would rip it off immediately but he was cold enough that he wore it for about an hour. If only i had a nice camera to take a picture of it.

  2. I am so happy the cookies did not crumble into a million pieces and next time I’ll send Porpus a real scarf or at least a ball of yarn. What a character, that one!

Leave a Reply

