Anticipation

I don’t have to go to work tomorrow, so that means I am in charge of the whole day.

Today, I have spent a lot of time being excited about this day off tomorrow. This happens to me all the time. This “looking forward” to something makes today just as exciting, if not more. Tomorrow is idealized in my head. I have a grand list of things I want to do. And tonight they all seem possible.

However, tomorrow I will inevitably start thinking about the work week, and the excitement of my day off will be a bit tarnished. Why does this happen? I just want to fully enjoy my time in the moment. Why can’t I just live more presently? The last day of an extended vacation is always a bittersweet too. I certainly don’t feel alone in this irritating human quality. Bah!!

BUT today is fantastic because my mind is filled with the endless possibilities of tomorrow. I’m thrilled to be sitting in bed right now with the alarm set for 6:30, plotting the activities that will follow the morning coffee. I plan to document the day and enjoy it, find happiness in being in charge of myself, and not worry about it all coming to an end without my list being completely accomplished.

In the spirit of anticipation, and my love for looking forward to things, I actually looked into the past. My old photo albums (pre-Canon and pre-DPH photos) document hundreds of happy moments that I can remember looking forward to during the days that led up to the happenings, enjoying them as they occurred, and certainly didn’t ruin them by realizing the day(s) would come to an end. Documenting and revisiting them remind me that I have more of these moments to come. Thus completing the cycle and sending me off into a state of anticipated happiness all over again.

Tune in tomorrow to see how it goes.

Here are some gems that pre-date the Daily Picture of Happiness project. Get ready for some major scrolling action:

Italy. Was there for work. Can't wait to go for vacation someday. Justin hasn't been yet.

Italy. Was there for work. Can't wait to go for vacation someday. Justin hasn't been yet.


Gelato. Want. Looking forward to eating it this summer.

Gelato. Want. Looking forward to eating it this summer.


Dining alfresco. Want. (Need?)

Dining alfresco. Want. (Need?) What happened to that necklace?


Best. Wedding. Ever. (Biased?)

Best. Wedding. Ever. (Biased?)


Seriously good day. Serious fun.

Seriously good day. Serious fun.


First discovering the Meerkat exhibit at the Lincoln Park Zoo. Outstanding.

First discovering the Meerkat exhibit at the Lincoln Park Zoo. Outstanding.


Ravinia picnic food coma. Priceless.

Ravinia picnic food coma. Priceless.


Boley cruise in Alaska. (Food coma not shown).

Boley cruise in Alaska. (Food coma not shown).


How can you eat one? They are tiny. Go ahead and have three.

How can you eat one? They are tiny. Go ahead and have three.


The porch opened up in the summer.

The porch opened up in the summer.


Pink peonies in the backyard. Girliest flower ever?

Pink peonies in the backyard. Girliest flower ever?


Winery #45847587 on our 2008 northern Michigan tour.

Winery #45847587 on our 2008 northern Michigan tour.


Pure Michigan.

Pure Michigan.


Remembering that plants can live outdoors for part of the year.

Remembering that plants can live outdoors for part of the year.

2 responses to “Anticipation

  1. <—– is jealous of everyone that is off tomorrow. Looking forward to seeing your posts from a day off.

  2. peonies are my FAVORITE!

Leave a Reply

