Things I Need to Get Over

I am the way I am because I was raised well. Thanks, Mom. But no thanks to the inherited buyer’s remorse. This is something I’m trying to overcome. Sometimes the guilt about a purchase is so bad that I will take the items back because I can’t handle it. This is getting better, but I still have to defend my purchase to myself with a well organized argument including no less than three indisputable facts that support the purchase.

Often, I will be standing in the living room showing off my new things to Justin, defending each item before even pulling it out of the shopping bag to show off the cuteness of the new shoe/skirt/accessory. Justin doesn’t have this buyer’s remorse problem. He also doesn’t see why I am defending the purchases to him. My husband doesn’t care if I come home with new things. He doesn’t lecture me on shoe purchases. He is never the reason for the returns. He always has the proper reaction to my treasures from a shopping adventure. He knows me and my buyers remorse struggle very well, and has never furthered this guilt in any way. Reason #4545748392 that he is my better half.

This being said, I bought new shoes!

  • Reason 1: I have had the same pair of (wonderful) beaten up loafers for two years. I wear them everyday unless it is warm enough to wear the cute green flats or sandals.
  • Reason 2: I never buy new shoes. When I do it is a struggle not to get them at Payless or TJ Maxx. Payless is not good for the feet and they tend not to be made well. Duh. You get what you pay for.
  • Reason 3: I am a women in her mid-twenties that wears salt-eaten shoes to work nearly everyday. Why? They are comfortable. I also tend to wear shoes until they are worn out. But that is seriously ridiculous. Especially when I can actually afford to get new ones more than every 2 years. And maybe even have a choice between more than one shoe.
They really are the best pair. I will probably still wear them. Rockport makes good stuff.

They really are the best pair. I will probably still wear them. Rockport makes good stuff.

Stacy and Clinton would slap me.

Stacy and Clinton would slap me.

Oh my god, shoes.

Oh my god, shoes.

These shoes rule.

These shoes rule.

The bargain of the bunch. Some italian designer. I won't share the sale price I got them for, but they were originally 400 bucks. They feel that good on the foot. Payless weeps.

The bargain of the bunch. Some italian designer. I won't share the sale price I got them for, but they were originally 400 bucks. They feel that good on the foot. Payless weeps.

New loafers! I love these because the inside feels like butter. We all know I am a big fan of butter.

New loafers! I love these because the inside feels like butter. We all know I am a big fan of butter.

7 responses to “Things I Need to Get Over

  1. Nice shoes! In my defense, I always pay a lot of money to get good shoes and I never regret buying well made comfortable shoes and I have never bought shoes at Payless. Buyer’s remorse over shoes is nothing. Try buying a BAD house. I think I need some red shoes.

  2. Forget the remorse and enjoy those nice shoes, and as Real Mamma points out as long as you keep some control over pricey stuff, enjoy your shoes!

  3. Complete shoe envy right now. Put that buyer’s remorse in a drawer far, far away!

  4. when did you do this?? GREAT blue shoes! hearts!

  5. i just had a fleeting thought of you, a pair of beaten up black flats and a permanent marker.

  6. That sounds about right. I have colored in many old shoe scuffs with a sharpie. Do you remember my only pair of shoes in college? Black sparkly sandals. That was it.

  7. Sorry that you probably inherited that buyer’s remorse gene from both sides, but as far as shoes go I have also always bought the best – and Rockports have been some of my favorites over the years. So glad you don’t have to have HEAPS of them (Australian slang term) to be happy, but even more happy that Justin serves you well, counteracting the effects of that deficient gene. And I look forward to seeing you in about six weeks wearing those sharp new shoes!

Leave a Reply

