I’ll Start With Raspberry Ice. And Then Some Dogwoods and Jacarandas.

I love trees. And I love Mary Poppins. Hence, my favorite tree is the weeping willow.
When I have a yard at some point in my life, I hope there will be a weeping willow in it. A little table will be underneath it and I will have cakes, tea and meatcake. You can come over. Bring penguins.
Hopefully it can also be used as a clubhouse of some kind; it’s branches make such a nice cove that was (and is) irresistible. You just have to walk into the cove.
weeping willow

photo credit: kittycat35121 on flickr

These are not my photos, because we still don’t have leaves. Just buds. I don’t want to talk about that. Please enjoy these nice Flickr photos in the meantime. Look how awesome the cove is under the weeping willow.>>>

photo credit: lele orpo

photo credit: lele orpo on flickr

photo credit: manyfires on flickr

photo credit: manyfires on flickr

I also want a Japanese maple tree in the imaginary yard. It’s Justin’s favorite. We actually have one now, so we are well on our way. Coming in at 3rd place is the dogwood. I think it is a dogwood?? This one is in Atlanta where spring is already in full force. Clearly. I love the blossoms so much that they deserve a closeup.

photo credit: dan givens

photo credit: Dan Givens

photo credit: simply photo on flickr

photo credit: simply photo on flickr

photo credit: Sheila in Millstone on flickr

photo credit: Sheila in Millstone on flickr

Can’t go wrong with cherry trees. This one is a Japanese cherry tree. Very fluffy. Very Dr. Seuss. I like it a lot. I will have several of these, please and thank you. I was going to stop there, but then I remembered the purple tree from the movie “What Dreams May Come.” Holy crap I want no less than 10 Jacarandas:

photo credit: theresa.brent on flickr

photo credit: theresa.brent on flickr

4 responses to “I’ll Start With Raspberry Ice. And Then Some Dogwoods and Jacarandas.

  1. No doubt, Joe will be there, under your weeping willow tree, if there is meatcake.

  2. I too LOVE trees! (and flowers – therefore flowering trees are the BEST) When my Mom and I went to Australia the jacarandas that lined the streets of Adelaide were awesome.
    I was born in Atlanta and lived there when I was young and I can say the Spring dogwood trees are unforgettable.
    My favorite poem:

    I think that I shall never see
    A poem lovely as a tree.
    A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
    Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;
    A tree that looks at God all day,
    And lifts her leafy arms to pray;
    A tree that may in Summer wear
    A nest of robins in her hair;
    Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
    Who intimately lives with rain.
    Poems are made by fools like me,
    But only God can make a tree.

    — Joyce Kilmer

  3. Pingback: Strawberry-Filled Lemon Cakes « MegaGood

  4. Lovely pictures, particularly the Jacarandas. We have quite a lot of Jacarandas here in Spain. We bought a young one, but it hasn’t flowered yey, but is doing well – perhaps next year!

Leave a Reply

