Strawberry-Filled Lemon Cakes

I admit to my total obsession with lemons. I probably use hundreds a year. “Lemon tree” should be added to the list of trees growing in my imaginary backyard.

<3

I was inspired to bake this weekend when I saw a recipe for these cupcakes. They seemed too wintery for April, but I still wanted to do a filled cupcake. In hindsight…the Irish car-bomb cupcakes would have fit right in with the RAIN/ICE/SLEET (update: SNOW) today…the weather is officially being put on notice.

Megagood Strawberry-Filled Lemon Cakes

  1. Steal someone’s recipe and make it my own: Lemon Cream Cupcakesingredients_4up
  2. Here is my addition:

all_fruit

When you spoon the batter into the cupcake papers, add a teaspoon of spreadable fruit as a second layer. Then cover that up with one more spoonful of batter. Magic! You have a strawberry filled cupcake. I learned that the batter for the cupcakes is very thick. Putting the dollop of the fruit on top of the batter so that it sinks in during baking doesn’t work. You have to layer it manually. Otherwise they will look like this:round_one1Oops. I can see the strawberry insides. Where is the fun surprise factor? You want them to come out of the oven looking like this:

cupcake_naked

The fresh strawberries are a delicious pop of color that tops-off each cupcake. They are megatasty.

finishedfilling

One response to “Strawberry-Filled Lemon Cakes

  1. Great job! Those look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

