Mega Mash Up

040909

What are these gorgeous little purple flowers called? There is an army of them taking over Chicago. And I like it.

Here is a sneak peek at the roof-deck-garage that is being built in our backyard. I was going to wait until it was totally finished to do a post, but I am too excited to wait. Something that concerns me about the roof deck is the low power lines. What are they planning to do with those I wonder?

040909_2

Now let’s talk about dinner.

I really love mashed potatoes. I love any buttery, cheesy, starchy comfort food. I have only made mashed potatoes once though. They are associated with holidays, and I have only hosted one holiday thus far. They take a long time to make unless you buy potato buds or instant mashed potatoes, but I have never attempted either of those. Last night, I thought I would try an alternative to spuds, and made a cauliflower mash up instead.

Results: OMG. Tastes way too good to be healthy. But it is indeed the healthiest comfort food I have eaten in months…if you don’t count the butter; but I bet you could use olive oil instead.

Megagood Cauli Mash Up

Rough idea of ingredients:

  • 1 head of chopped cauliflower
  • Salt...um not sure how much. It is up to your taste.
  • Fresh ground black pepper
  • Shredded or grated Parmesan. I am sure you could do other cheeses as well, but Parm is really flavorful and you won’t need much. I bet goat cheese would be delicious also. Or cheddar? I will have to experiment a little more.
  • Your favorite blend of herbs. I used Italian Seasoning last night.
  • Horseradish. I can’t help but add a heaping couple of spoonfuls for kick.
  • Butter. About 2-3 tablespoons.
  • All purpose flour. Only a teaspoon. It helps everything stick together and adds body.

Pretty lousy directions:

  1. Boil water. Generously salt the water. Add the chopped cauliflower and simmer for about 8-10 minutes or until a fork can easily pierce the cauli. Basically make sure it is seems “mashable” to you. Drain the cauliflower and put it into a LARGE mixing bowl. This could be messy.
  2. Add all the rest of the ingredients to the mixing bowl and use an electric mixer or potato masher to blend all the goodness together. When it starts to look like the consistency of a starchy comfort food, you are getting somewhere.
  3. Return the mash to the empty pot on the stove. Heat the mash on low and continue squishing the chunks in the pot. The cheese will get melty. Taste it. Add more salt if you want. Add whatever you want.
  4. Plate it and then trick your dinner date into thinking they are eating indulgently on a weeknight.

cali_halfcauli_boilcauli_beaterscauli_mashed

One response to “Mega Mash Up

  1. I tried a different cauliflower mash and couldn’t get into it. BUT maybe there is hope yet for the cauliflower love…will try again…

Leave a Reply

