Peeps In Love

There is a planter just outside my office entrance with these guys in it:

041009I want to stop and pet them. They remind me of my grandma’s house when I was little. Grandma’s house was probably a more appropriate place to hang out and pet plants. The cabs trying to get in and out of the hotel driveway next to the office were not amused with me.

Can’t you picture them as little living animals? They might open their little eyes at any moment, climb up the branch, then hop into your coat pocket and live there as pets. I am sure they would need a diet of Skittles and chocolate milk (via eyedropper of course). I can totally picture them sprouting little arms and then bathing themselves via paw “lick-and-wipe” method as a kitten would. I might be alone in this thought.

Meet Frank, Jules and Karen.

Meet Frank, Jules and Karen.

After a few moments, I did have to leave the plants and go up to the office to bill some hours. I was greeted by my office mate, Alex (AKA Corner Office Den Mother), with box of disturbingly electric-blue Peeps for breakfast. I don’t eat these things because…um…does anyone eat these things? I like to pin them up somewhere and see how long it takes for them to decompose. The results of that experiment is that they NEVER decompose. They are immortal.

041009_4

He will be living on my wall, not in my belly. Look! He has already made several friends.

He will be living on my wall, not in my belly. Look! He has already made several friends.

Then I actually did some work. Seriously. I do work. Until mid-afternoon margaritas with fresh squeezed lime juice, homemade mango salsa, and delicious secret recipe guacamole. Thanks, Den Mother! Bonus points for the presentation in the Corner Bakery cups.

041009_5041009_6

One response to “Peeps In Love

  1. Peeps would be happy to be so honored by your beautiful photographs, because your instincts are right about peeps. Brilliantly colored marshmallow in the vague shape of a chick . . . .Highly Suspect! We won’t go out with a bang, or a whimper. We’ll go out with a peep.

    Thank you, Megan for your entertaining, fun and yummy blog.

Leave a Reply

