Campfire Ball

Saturday was filled with drinks, dresses, smores, and campfire songs. The 2009 Campfire Ball is being hailed as a success. I was impressed by the large number of attendees, the attention to detail, and of course the bacon-aioli-topped macaroni bites. There was also a fantastic wine raffle and an expansive spread of silent auction items up for bid.  Let’s not forget the kayak full of dessert–what more could you want?

One of the campers was there to lead us in a 500-person-strong rendition of “The Moose, The Moose.” He did a great job. He has more confidence–at a young age in front of a room full of fancy-pants adults–than I do now. The Moose song is still stuck in my head. Memories of summer camp came flooding back, and I got a little nostalgic for bunkbeds, campfires, the breakfast bell, and trust-falls. I adored camp. It was the best part of my summers as a kid, and I am glad to have had a small part in helping the kids at One-Step At A Time Camp.  I’m happy to know they have the chance to enjoy their camping experience, just like other kids without cancer.

I brought my camera to document the event, and learned a few things from this particular night. I don’t have a lot of experience shooting in low-light situations, and now I realize I need an adjustable flash. Luckily, a professional photographer with a nice flash was there to capture the crispy well-lit guest shots. I did my best with the available light. Here are a few shots from the evening:

This was the celebrity bartender area. I got to meet Pat Tomasulo from WGN morning news. Yay!

This was the celebrity bartender area. I got to meet Pat Tomasulo from WGN morning news. Yay!

"The Moose, The Moose..."

"The Moose, The Moose..."

Justin and Andrea in the wine raffle corner.

Justin and Andrea in the wine raffle corner.

Blurry, but one of my favorite shots of the night. Just love it.

Blurry, but one of my favorite shots of the night. Just love it.

Purple vaulted ceiling. Obviously.

Purple vaulted ceiling. Obviously.

Mingl, Mingle. Drink. Eat.

Mingl, Mingle. Drink. Eat.

Party from above.

The party from above.

Raffle

Raffle

The Canteen was VERY popular. It held the fabulous dessert bar, complete with smores and kayak full of cotton candy.

The Canteen was VERY popular. It held the fabulous dessert bar, complete with smores and a kayak full of cotton candy.

The Smore Bar.

The Smore Bar. There is something awesome about men in expensive suits roasting marshmallows.

I want one of these.

I want one of these.

Lovely

Lovely

3 responses to “Campfire Ball

  1. Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

Leave a Reply

