Divey Deliciousness

Due to some kind of accident on the tracks of the Northline Metra, I had to take an alternate route home last night. Besides the extra walking and transfers, I didn’t mind it too much. A change in daily scenery makes me feel more human. I was going to make dinner, but as I exited the Damen #50 I knew Lebanese food was the only option.

Taste of Lebanon (also known as Totes Lebs) is not someplace I would notice or venture into on my own, but Alex let me in on the secret of this neighborhood gem. It was recently described as “Deeeeleeeshus,” on Yelp. Agreed. The only complaints seem to be that it is not open 24/7.

If you show up there, please do not be frightened by the appearance. It is charmingly dreadful. But I assure you the food and the prices are unbeatable. Bring cash. Eat Chawarma. Ignore the styrofoam food presentation if you can and take it to go.

042309_4

Glorious tropical wall mural.

Glorious tropical wall mural.

Sink in dining area under the TV for your hand-cleansing pleasure.

Sink in dining area under the TV for your hand-cleansing pleasure.

Exotic travel photos.

Exotic travel photos.

Simply the best lentil soup I have had.

Simply the best lentil soup I have had.

Chawarma.

Chawarma.

2 responses to “Divey Deliciousness

  1. lovely tropical mural with a trim of christmas. That good huh? May have to venture there as a group one day.

  2. I thought the same thing about the evergreen trees, but I guess it it the Lebanese flag as a border. How nice.

Leave a Reply

