Only Happy When It Rains…

…at night. The sound of a rainstorm against the windows at night is such a calming and peaceful noise to fall asleep to. I don’t mind a storm at night one bit, unless I am driving or there are tornadoes involved. But I don’t drive, and tornadoes don’t seem to like Lake Michigan very much so I am pretty safe. Last night’s downpour was such a comforting sound, but only because I was warm and cozy indoors eating pasta and cheese. The baseball fans at the Cubs game were probably on a different page.

This is the window to the front yard this morning. I could have taken it for last night, but you would not have been able to see much since my night skills are lacking

This is the window to the front yard this morning. I could have taken it for last night, but you would not have been able to see much since my night skills are lacking

The rainstorm would have been even better if I woke up to a sunny morning full of happy. well-fed plants, but it will likely be an umbrella and wellies kind of day again. Let me just pretend for a second that it was a sunny morning and show you what that may have looked like. It is my blog and I can do what I want.

Good morning broad summer leaves! Look how you and the sunshine are dappling the sidewalk below. Well done.

Good morning, broad summer leaves! Look how you and the sunshine are dappling the sidewalk below. Well done.

Morning, Dr. Suess-puff-ball-purple-flowers!

Morning, Dr. Seuss-puff-ball-purple-flowers!

Tiny Bun! Good to see you. I hope you were underground and cozy last night in your lot on Carmen and Ashland. It would be great if you could have some tiny bun bun babies. That would be maximum cuteness. Thanks.

Tiny Bun! Good to see you. I hope you were underground and cozy last night in your lot on Carmen and Ashland. It would be great if you could have some tiny bun bun babies. That would be maximum cuteness. Thanks.

I hope you enjoyed that fake walk with me.

More random happy happenings yesterday:

  1. It was my mom’s birthday! She just joined Facebook a couple days ago, which means she is actually a lot younger than her real age. Bravo.
  2. I got two tickets to see UP in 3-d this Saturday! I will likely be sharing the theater with all the kids in Evanston, but I am thrilled regardless.
  3. I downloaded the Couch to 5k plan for myself and made a workout calendar that starts next Monday. I am working on my music play-list with the help of Facebook friends, and acquiring some decent running shoes in the meantime. Woot! I have also been inspired by Jo to start eating better. I am going to attempt moderation, which I have never been very good at.
4 responses to “Only Happy When It Rains…

  1. Great focus in the top photo!

  2. Good luck with the Couch to 5K. LOVE it. You can do anything…moderation watch out!

  3. I love the couch to 5k plan! I started out running too hard and too long and got horrid shin splints and had to stop altogether. I’m gonna get going again using that plan! Weeee.

  4. I’m way excited for you!!! You will totally rock-it…or run-it.

Leave a Reply

