Fast+Easy+Healthy+Delicious

Yesterday was not great in terms of weather or commuting. Someone was actually clipping their nails on the train. It was a loud, thick-nailed, super nasty kind of clipping sound. This went on for at least 15 minutes!?!? Did they get done with the hands and move to the feet? I didn’t dare look twice, because the first whip-around-and-glare move did nothing more than heat up my irritation further. I had to move cars for my sanity and the nail clipper’s safety.I won’t even talk about the commute home. It was too dreadful to revisit.

Yesterday morning was also wet and stormy, so I had to change my initial couch to 5k training to a Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday schedule. And did that happen this morning? NO. It is still raining. Bummer. Now I have to go treadmill it at lunch. Luckily, one of the perks at work is a company gym complete with laundry service. Not too shabby.

One thing that I have been successful at in the last week is eating healthier. I haven’t gone off the deep end into the pool of strict and irrational eating which I have done before; but better choices have been made. I will call it eating with awareness, not dieting. Part of this awareness means that you have to acknowledge the human need for a treat now and then. Last night, I tricked myself into thinking I had pizza. It was amazing.

All you need is whole wheat pita pockets, and some fresh toppings that you love. Keep them intact for a fluffy crust or peel open the pocket to create two very crisp crusts for the pizza. I added heirloom tomatoes, pesto, basil, and fresh mozzarella. And for Justin, arugula, prosciutto, and Parmesan. Then just bake them for about 5 minutes at 375 or 400 degrees. Very easy and very good.

After his first helping, Justin took his plate back to the kitchen to load it in the dishwasher. When he flipped the lights on in the kitchen, he yelped something unintelligible when he saw the sight of an extra cookie sheet of mini pizzas. I think it would be weeks and weeks before he would complain about eating pizza, even if he ate it for every meal, every day. Needless to say, this was his DPH.

060109

Yeah, not the healthiest thing I have eaten all week, but if this is the most sinful thing I have done, my penance is not a big deal.

Yeah, not the healthiest thing I have eaten all week. If this is the most sinful thing I have done, my penance is not a big deal.

One response to “Fast+Easy+Healthy+Delicious

  1. Ohhhhhh my goooooodnesssss!
    That looks so delicious my soul is drooling.

Leave a Reply

