Hold-Out

There are certain spots in this city that are great mysteries to me. They are just begging to tell their stories, but they stand there mute, keeping their secrets from me and my google search results. When I want to know something I will research it obsessively until I have become a mini-maven on an the subject; these city hold-outs frustrate me to no end.

I have no information on the old house that is sandwiched between these two monstrous, modern, downtown condo buildings. I think it is such a fascinating site. I guess it may also seem a bit sad, depending on how you look at it. This curmudgeon (word of the month!) of a house reminds me of the movie UP. (Check it out at 158 W Superior St in Chicago if you are ever in that neighborhood.)

It is so overgrown, but holding on strong.

It is so overgrown, but holding on strong.

I love passing by it. I hope it stays there for years to come, although I would not be sad to see it float away with a million balloons.

I love passing by it and I hope it stays there for years to come; although I would not be sad to see it float away with a million balloons.

pixar-up-frame1UP_3_jpg_610x393pixar-up-house-balloons-single

2 responses to “Hold-Out

  1. That house is neat, but it creeps me out a bit for some reason. Sort of Addams Family-esque. And I saw a rat in front of it once.

  2. Yeah, the rat knows more about that house than I ever will.

Leave a Reply

