Six Months of Daily Happiness

Last weekend marked my 6-month anniversary of this blog. It doesn’t seem like I have been posting for that long, and it has been fun. Because of this little project, I look at things in a different way. People I am hanging out with will observe a situation and be more than happy to suggest that I take my DPH right then. Or they will do little things like bring me strawberries at work and then expect the camera to emerge immediately (it does of course). I don’t mind the collaboration, and I am thrilled that anyone else is interested in this daily ritual. Last Sunday, my brother got very excited about finally having nice weather for a day. He filmed outside of his apartment, and composed his own little happiness film of the day.

So thanks for reading or just skimming and viewing. It has been fun so far.

This is a DPH left over from Sunday. We found another secret patio in Andersonville along the Clark Street strip. This one is at Frida.

This is a DPH left over from Sunday. We found another secret patio in Andersonville along the Clark Street strip. This one is at Frida.

Random street fair on Sunday. We weren't really planning on it, but you kind of stumble into them during the summer in Chicago. This food makes me laugh. And cry.

Random street fair on Sunday. We weren't really planning on it, but you kind of stumble into them during the summer in Chicago. This food makes me laugh. And cry.

Alex brought us Michigan berries yesterday afternoon. He helped art direct this DPH. Note the favorite color of the berry basket. Well done, sir.

Alex brought us Michigan berries yesterday afternoon. He helped art direct this DPH. Note the favorite color of the berry basket. Well done, sir.

Herbs are planted in the tins!

Herbs are planted in the tins!

You may have noticed that there are some new critters in the herb garden. Yes, I have gone completely nuts and turned into a grandma that collects figurines. What is happening to me?!?! Anyway, this is Elevator-Bottom Deer. If you are not familiar with "elevator-bottom," then you have probably never petted a cat.

You may have noticed that there are some new critters in the herb garden. Yes, I have gone completely nuts and turned into a grandma that collects figurines. What is happening to me?!?! Anyway, this is Elevator-Bottom Deer. If you are not familiar with "elevator-bottom," then you have probably never petted a cat.

4 responses to “Six Months of Daily Happiness

  1. You Hochstetlers are a talented bunch! Your mom should write a book. 🙂 Love the DPH. Keep ’em coming. And congrats on your 6-month anniversary. Perhaps there’s an appropriate figurine for the occasion?

  2. I bought a drunk mouse figurine. He has been celebrating a little too much and annoying the other critters.

  3. Happy Anniversary!!!

  4. I’m not sure how I found your blog, but I love it! To remind people to stop and take a moment to be happy is a great public service…very zen or tao or something. I was working on that very thing this morning before I came to to computer to start “working.” What helps me shuck off the world and its state of angst best is making a gratitude list, often in the form of a thank-you prayer. The more I do that, the more happy little surprises I get.

Leave a Reply

