Conundrum

The squeals you just heard were from Amber and Jordan. Amber is the cutest copywriter this side of the Mississippi and just drank a quadruple shot of espresso; she is pleased to see the word CONUNDRUM used in bold font. Jordan is pissed that I still have a springtime masthead at the top of this page.

Here is the problem I have been wrestling with. I read about a million blogs these days, ranging from news, to cute animal updates, food blogs, and personal sites that belong to my friends or people that I pretend are my friends. Some of these blogs divulge deeply personal information about the author, their friends and their family. Others are more externally focused, yet still provide candid and honest commentary on their observations, views, and just “what’s what.” I won’t go into lengthy detail, but I am struggling with how much to reveal about myself at times. Honesty and authenticity are extremely important to me, but so is self-editing. It is a tricky line to walk.

Yesterday’s DPH is a secret. Sorry.

Yesterday’s other moments of happiness were not photographed. For instance, when I was making dinner last night, I had my hair pulled up in braids and piled on the top of my head since it is finally long enough to do so. My husband walked past on the way to the fridge and commented on how pretty my neck looked with my hair up. After being with him for years now, I have been told that I am “pretty” many times. It is always nice to hear, but I don’t fully accept it since he kind of has to say it. Sometimes a more specific or unexpected compliment–such as the one in the kitchen last night–is all I need to really believe he still finds me beautiful. It is a little thing that I will remember for a long time.

Another thing that gets me is when we are sitting on the couch together “watching TV.” Sometimes we will both be on our laptops as well. I am generally not paying attention to the show that is on and will be reading a blog instead. If it is good writing, I will bust out in occasional laughter. Justin thinks that I am laughing at something on the TV, and simultaneously busts out laughing with me without thinking too much about it. Is that called empathy? Whatever it is, I love it.

Here is my third string DPH's for the day. I am really into flower arranging according to Dr. Suess.

Here are my third string DPH's for the day. I am really into flower arranging according to Dr. Seuss.

I love the coral-looking branches.

I love the coral-looking branches.

070109_4

I also got these from the local flower shop. Fake moss rocks. Really a big fan of these, even though they are likely made of something really toxic from China.

I also got these from the local flower shop. Fake moss rocks. Really a big fan of these, even though they are likely made of something really toxic from China.

4 responses to “Conundrum

  1. I love this!!!! Sooooooo freaking cute! Lil preshes and perches and mostests!!!

  2. awwww! i love this post, so very sweet. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Oh conundrum, how i love thee. And how i love your little flower guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

