Love Love Love

Please refrain from eating this. I know it is delicious and awesome. Get your own.

Please refrain from eating this. I know it looks delicious and awesome. Get your own, because I am in love with this one.

Ice tea is sweating in the sun. I am not. I love the bright burst of jeweled light at the bottom of a sunny patio beverage.

Iced tea is sweating in the sun. I'm not. I love the bright burst of jeweled light at the bottom of a sunny patio beverage.

And sprouts. I love sprouts. Piled them high on a sandwich with fresh home-grown tomatoes and spicey mustard and I will love you forever.

And sprouts. I love sprouts. Piled them high on a sandwich with fresh home-grown tomatoes and spicy mustard and I will love you forever.

And buffalos! Love them. They also seem to love themselves. Love for all.

And buffaloes! Love 'em. They also seem to love themselves. Love for all.

Firework leftovers! Less love for these. And the people that just kind of left them on the ground. I guess the love affair was short lived. "These violent delights have violent ends And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, Which as they kiss consume."

Less love for these. And the people that just left them on the ground. I guess their love affair was short lived. "These violent delights have violent ends And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, Which as they kiss consume."

Don't know what this is but I love it.

Don't know what this is but I love it.

George's Iceream and Sweets on Clark. It is a new place that is a welcome addition to the Andersonville strip. Who doesn't like icecream shops that also serve Illy coffee and are nicely decorated? And the logo of the little red guy on the barstool with a double scoop? Love him.

George's Ice Cream and Sweets on Clark. It's a welcome addition to the Andersonville strip. Who doesn't like ice cream shops that also serve Illy coffee and are nicely decorated? And the logo of the little red guy on the bar stool with a double scoop and poo-shaped hat? Love him.

Am I over posting flower and foliage shots since it isn't spring anymore? No, I still have mega foliage love.

Am I over posting flower and foliage shots since it isn't spring anymore? No, I still have mega foliage love.

Excuse me while I make-out with any flower that is attached to a curly vine clinging to a fence. Just wake past and ignore us, please. We are in love. There is just something about climbing vines that gets to me.

Excuse me while I make-out with any flower that is attached to a curly vine clinging to a fence. Just walk past and ignore us, please. We are in love. There is just something about climbing vines that gets to me.

Just in case you were counting the amount of times I used the word love, you are correct with your tally of 354677324. I’m just excited that it really feels like summer. At least for today. Lightning bugs are blinking right outside my window, but I don’t have a tripod yet so there aren’t any photos to mark this happy occasion. I might go set the camera on the front steps to steady it and see what happens. Likely, all you would see is a really long exposure of nighttime grass with a smattering of dead patches from all the dog pee.

Some of the photos posted above are from our neighborhood scouting in Rogers Park. It has it’s good spots. But it is safe to say that I would be megapleased if we could someday buy a place in the Andersonville/Ravenswood/Lincoln Square area.

Today, I told Justin that sometimes I feel like a crazy person with no plan. So many things about our life are up in the air at the moment—waiting in limbo until law school ends. Since he was some kind of monk in one of his many past lives, his wise response was

“no one ever knows what will happen.”

Hmmm. Damn it, he is right.

Patience is a virtue that I am still working on. I think I might be working on it for my whole life. The next year or two will be very exciting and confusing times. He will be graduating and we will find out if we can stay in Chicago or if we are moving elsewhere. My fingers are crossed for Chicago, but I am learning to have an open mind about other possibilities. As the end of school comes into sight, I find myself giddy, thrilled, nervous, and also trying to plan for a life that I cannot yet predict. Have you ever read a “Choose Your Own Adventure” book? That about sums it up, only I can’t cheat and flip ahead to read all the options and outcomes.

I need to work on becoming more like a monk and less like a kitten on catnip that wants to lick the butter you left out on the counter when you were making muffins.

Deep breaths.

And lots of love.

4 responses to “Love Love Love

  1. Chicago, Chicago. No moving.

  2. I love me some Lincoln Square. I also loved those Choose Your Own Adventure books.

    I have the same interior monologue about Chicago. It’s a love/hate relationship for sure.

    Did that George’s place move into where Sweet Occasions used to be? I loved that place. They had an espresso oreo ice cream that was my favorite. I was sad to see it go.

  3. George’s is in the Sweet Occasions spot. It has been re decorated, but they still have really tasty treats. Check it out sometime!

    I really do love Chicago, even when it gets on my nerves. I will just have to cheat on it with trips to warmer climates if we stay here.

  4. Hey Mega!! Great Stuff! Loving Chicago. Keep in touch!!….oh yeah. subscribe to our blog:))

Leave a Reply

