Ugly Food

Justin and I spent the past few days pretending we were going to buy a place. This was a fun game for me, since one of my favorite things to do in Chicago is just wander around aimlessly. However, Mr. Boley hates aimless wandering. But since we were “scouting” neighborhoods, the wandering transformed into a mission with an objective. He is much happier this way.

There was also food. Ugly, colorless– and yet delicious–German food. Since we were in Lincoln Square for one of our scouting missions, we decided to try the Brauhaus.

Looks safe and germany from the outside.

Looks safe and Germanish from the outside...

..on the inside it ws like a red-light carpetted german cafeteria decorated in the 70s.

..on the inside it was a dimly lit carpeted German cafeteria decorated in the 70s.

Sprechen Sie Delicious?

Sprechen Sie Delicious?

all aestetic treacheries were pardoned the second that the jars of horseradish and mustard were delivered. I then proceeded to top my schnitzel with this mana from german heaven. This was one of the most comforting and delicious meals I have had in a long time.

All aesthetic treacheries were pardoned the second that the jars of horseradish and mustard were delivered. I then proceeded to top my schnitzel and bratwursts with this manna from German condiment heaven. This was one of the most comforting and delicious meals I have had in a long time.

I was so happy with the meal, that I looked on the internet to see if my company has an office in Germany. Just in case. YES! Frankfurt. I could do that. And maybe change my middle name back to Hochstetler? I would consider it.

One response to “Ugly Food

  1. If you ever go back, get one of the pretzels. So good when dipped in spicy mustard. Yum.

Leave a Reply

