Karma and Nubbins

I haven’t talked about Commuter Tourism for awhile. If you are new, let me tell you that I do not have a car. This means that I don’t have to endure horrendous traffic on the way to work. Since I happen to love my route to work, I often take pictures along the way. Many days, these do not make the cut into DPH. They end up in the trash because I can’t stand the extra files crowding my space. Makes me itchy. Even though they are generally sent to digital death row, I continue to take them everyday because it keeps me fresh. Commutes have the danger of becoming monotonous and mind numbing, but if you look closely, there is something new happening all the time.

Today, I feel like giving some of my commute files a pardon from their sentence of certain death, and will let them live with the cool kids on the interwebs.

Vines again. I have a special place in my heart for them. My first attempt at growing plants was when I lived in Florida. I had many vines clinging delicately  to my balcony railings. Then there were four hurricanes in one season. I had to cut them all of so the pots wouldn't fly through our glass doors. :( I am so sorry my little vine babies.

Vines again. I have a special place in my heart for them. My first attempt at growing plants was when I lived in Florida. Many flowering vines clung delicately to my balcony railings. Then there were four hurricanes in one season, and I had to cut them all off so the pots wouldn't fly through our glass doors. 😦 I am so sorry my little vine babies.

Follow the blue/orange/pink/green/yellow brick road. This must have taken someone hours to draw. It runs the span of our block and alternates colors and number of lanes. My guess is that the artists are Francine (lemonade stand extraordinare) and her buddy who was making invisible strawberry sundeas the last time I saw her.

Follow the blue/orange/pink/green/yellow brick road. This must have taken someone hours to draw. It runs the span of our block and alternates colors and number of lanes. My guess is that the artists are Francine (lemonade stand extraordinaire) and her buddy who was making invisible strawberry sundaes the last time I saw her.

The colorful road ends at a house that has very nice people living in it. I must have dropped my security badge outside of this lovely home on my walk to work this morning. On my way home, there were two big orange signs in their front walkway that read: “MEGAN BOLEY we have something of yours.AWESOME. I love people like that. I wish I would have photographed the signs. When I got home, I also had an email that informed me that they had the badge, since they had been thoughtful enough to google me. How nice is that? Thanks, nice neighbors.

Back to the commute now. Half of my journey is in the Loop. You have seem many photos taken of Chicago in the loop. I am sure of that. Many just featuring a picturesque panorama of our beautiful skyline. Recently, I have been admiring the skyline from below, but just in bits and pieces. I like to isolate the tip-top of the buildings in the photos. Why embarrass the Merch Mart by revealing the whole body? Sometimes it is sexier to just peak your interest and then leave the rest up to the imagination. Here are the first shots in my new series called Chicago Nubbins. Sorry if you hate that word. I am open to alternate names.

MerchMartcommute2BritannicaChiNubCommute

Whoa! Double nubbin.

Whoa! Double nubbin.

2 responses to “Karma and Nubbins

  1. love the nubbins!

  2. I love that they left a sign out for you! How nice.

    Great photo set idea w/ the “nubbins.”

Leave a Reply

