Summertime, and the Cooking is Easy

Is it raining?

If the answer is no, then we are probably grilling dinner outside. All the love that the oven got during the winter has been transferred to the grill.

I am new at this, but it’s working out well. Grilling is pretty mindless actually, after you get over the fear of blowing yourself up or singing the eyebrows off while lighting the thing.  I even have time to zone out in the late afternoon sun and wander around the yard while the grill works its magic.

Here is a shot from the yard, taken while I was "making dinner."

Here is a shot from the yard, taken while I was "making dinner."

More wandering.

More wandering.

I could hug the grill. That’s how happy I am about this new method of cooking. This is not advisable. It smells so good though, especially when there are fresh herbs involved.

071109_6

One thing I am still trying to do is cook veggies and sides on the grill as well, so no pans need to be washed at all. I haven’t quite mastered this yet, but I will be grilling Brussel sprouts as soon as I can.

You have to like german food and kraut for this one. Brussel sprouts, pan fried with olive oil, butter, nutmeg, fresh sage, salt, pepper, and sauerkraut. DELICIOUS.

You have to like german food and kraut for this one. Brussel sprouts, pan fried with olive oil, butter, nutmeg, fresh sage, salt, pepper, and sauerkraut. DELICIOUS.

<3<3<3<3

<3<3<3<3

The herb garden is thriving, and all my well organized spices in their pretty alphabetized rows are getting about as much love as the oven is.

The herb garden is thriving, and all my well organized spices in their pretty alphabetized rows are getting about as much love as the oven is.

3 responses to “Summertime, and the Cooking is Easy

  1. I’ve been living off of grilled asparagus and yellow squash. Just get a bag of those handy wooden skewers; they make it possible to grill just about anything!

    I LOVE brussel sprouts, but haven’t had them in years, mainly cause I don’t know how to cook them… when you figure out a tasty way to grill them, pass that info along!!!

  2. I love sprouts. I usually roast them and then squeeze some lemon juice on top afterwards, but your way w/ the kraut sounds really good.

    You could grill them by tossing them with olive oil, salt and pepper, and then dumping them onto a doubled up sheet of foil that you laid on top of the grill. If you wanted to put them directly on the grill, you could skewer them…but that sounds like a lot of work. 🙂

  3. Brussel Sprout suggestion: coat the little suckers with some EVOO, sea salt, pepper, garlic and mushrooms. Ditto on the foil, you could make a little foil bowl, with sides and everything so they don’t fall out when you take ’em off the grill.

    I’ll be taking your kraut ideas to the kitchen on the next sprout creation!

Leave a Reply

