Swedish Gyros

Have you ever been on a store check?

No?

Well then you are missing out on feeling like a creepy loiterer. I spent my day in the western suburbs of Chicago doing just that. I won’t go into detail about the exciting world of store checks, but I will share this discovery with you.

If you are part of a certain “exclusive membership program” of a certain warehouse store, then you can pick out your own casket, some “Versace” china, and replacement printer cartridges all in one convenient aisle.

I am just as confused as you are. Wait, what does that say on the top of the casket display?

I am just as confused as you are. Wait, what does that say on the top of the casket display?

Non-Emotional? What? And why that image?

Non-Emotional? What? And why that image?

After a long day of store checks, I was happy to arrive home from the strip malls, big box stores and mall sprawl of the western burbs. Andersonville, I ❤ you. I felt like celebrating the general awesomeness of the weather and the neighborhood with a Monday night patio dining experience and a stroll along the Clark street strip.

Geranium patio companions at Andies.

Geranium patio companions at Andies.

Justin on the left, and I'm on the right. Who knew that sauteed spinach could be an entree? "Jo in Seattle" would approve.

Justin on the left, and I'm on the right. Who knew that sauteed spinach could be an entree? "Jo in Seattle" would approve.

The swedish horse in front of the White Attic in Andersonville.

The Swedish horse in front of the White Attic.

Electric violet blue window boxes and tiles on the front of Tapas Las Ramblas. They hurt to look at in person because of the intense saturation.

Electric violet blue window boxes and tiles on the front of Tapas Las Ramblas. They hurt to look at in person because of the intense saturation.

This bench and planter area can be found on each corner of the main Clark street strip of Andersonville. This evening sun can be found in the summer. It cannot be found when walking home from the train at 5 pm in January. I have to remember this shot when I am wearing boots and down in the dark.

These bench and planter areas can be found on each corner along the main Clark street strip of Andersonville. This evening sun can be found on perfect summer nights. It cannot be found when trudging home from the train at 5 pm in January. I have to remember this shot when I am wearing boots and down coat in the dark.

2 responses to “Swedish Gyros

  1. A jo in seattle does approve of spinach as a meal. creamed spinach used to be my favorite thing ever, but I wore myself out on it. A jo in seattle might not approve of a casket isle.

    “I need a casket check on isle 1,043!”

  2. Caskets at the club store is not OK with me.

Leave a Reply

