Deliciously Horrifying

Cantaloupe is another summer treat that is no good unless it is eaten in season. There is nothing worse than eating a pale, dry, and tasteless melon in the dead of winter–except maybe eating a pale, mealy, tasteless tomato.

Out-of-season-over-traveled fruit and veggies give their in-season-locally-grown relatives a bad name. Who wouldn’t hate mushy pale peas or tough woodsy green beans?  I swear that kids would be a whole lot more excited about eating fruits and veggies if they were eating them in season. The fact that you can call an irradiated apple that was shipped from another continent in January by the same name as one picked in August from just outside your town is sad. They taste nothing alike. If you had a blind taste test between the two, they would be categorized as different fruits entirely. Same goes for about a million other fruits and vegetables.

That being said, my summer cantaloupe is fantastic right now. Just as a fresh summer tomato should be eaten with salt while listening to Janis Joplin’s Summertime, a cantaloupe should be eaten without a fork with while listening to Miles Davis.

Delicious. Sweet. Juicey. Smells amazing.

Delicious. Sweet. Juicy. Smells amazing.

Want to make a perfectly delicious fruit instantly horrifying? Probably not. I did for some reason. That is the grossest mouth ever. Sorry.

Want to make an enticing piece of fruit instantly horrifying? Probably not. That is the grossest mouth ever. Sorry.

To insure that you don't have any nightmares abour Cantamouth, I will leave you with some pretty photos of my latest Dr. Seuss arrangement.

To ensure that you don't have any nightmares about Cantamouth, I will leave you with some pretty photos of my latest Dr. Seuss arrangement.

071809_5

5 responses to “Deliciously Horrifying

  1. I don’t want it to be winter ever again. I love my fruits & veggies far too much!

  2. applebottomphotography

    do you know the names of these flowers? i’m trying to find dr. seuss flowers for my daughter’s first birthday party!

  3. I wish I could help you. I don’t know what the yellow ones are, but the flower shop was calling the purple ones artichokes?

    Try looking up “Alliums.” They come in a variety of sizes. I was able to find a purple one for sale that was the size of a softball. Very Dr. Seuss.

  4. applebottomphotography

    thank you!!!

  5. I love the cantaloupe picture! It reminds me of some sliced cantaloupe on my blog: http://www.allgoogly.com/2009/01/cantaloupe-pronounced-cahn-ta-loo-pay/

Leave a Reply

