Grown Up

I feel like such a big girl every time I replace something I bought at IKEA. A couple of years ago, nearly EVERYTHING I owned was purchased from the Swedish wonderland of affordable do-it-yourself home goods. Which is just fine and dandy for a few years, but then your furniture starts to explode or dissolve. They should put expiration dates on all the boxes (oh dear me the BOXES…) so that you know the approximate date of when you will have to completely refurnish your home, due to utter failure of the couch/rug/dresser you just bought.

Everything looks so nice at first. Your apt is stunning! It helps that you are totally high from getting SUCH A GOOD DEAL! Look at how many rooms you furnished! Say, you are smart and good looking. And you have excellent taste in pillow covers!

What is that cracking noise? Oh god…the dresser. It has literally exploded. Fantastic. Great.

Is that a tumble weed? What the hell is all this white fluffy crap? OH…the rug. Awesome. I love how it sheds worse than a cat and also seems to be a lint remover/dirt trap for the world. It used to be so pretty. So fluffy, so clean. What smells like wet cat?

So I am pleased to be cheating on IKEA with West Elm. I love them very much, although their shipping is usually pretty expensive and sometimes slow. But when my mom mentioned a free shipping event last weekend I jumped at the chance to get a decent living room rug. It is perfect! And the Dyson is not interested in ingesting it! Woot!

Yay rug! This is a bit blurry, but you get the idea. Note that the table is an IKEA purchase...and so is the lamp. I love them dearly and apologize if anything I have said here offended them.

Yay rug! This is a bit blurry, but you get the idea. Note that the table is an IKEA purchase...and so is the lamp. I love them dearly and apologize if anything I have said here offended them.

Porp tested. Feline approved.

Porp tested. Feline approved.

080509

Does Porpus look skinnier to you?

P.S. I quit drinking caffiene last week. It was a rough couple of days, but I am so happy that I did. I can sleep through the night! No early morning wake-up-and-worry sessions. No mid-day crashes. And my skin is better. I am taking tea suggestions if you have any.

P.S. I quit drinking caffeine last week. It was a rough couple of days, but I am so happy that I did. I can sleep through the night! No early morning wake-up-and-worry sessions. No mid-day crashes. And my skin is better. I am now taking tea suggestions if you have any.

3 responses to “Grown Up

  1. I love the rug! It looks great with the green couch. As for tea, Tension Tamer by Celestial Seasonings is my favorite herbal tea. I suggest it.

  2. Wow, your place looks great! Seriously though. Exposed brick? Drool.

  3. I too have kicked my coffee/energy drink habits – tastes gross to me at this point. I drink only tea now… I do the “non-bag” thing where you put raw tea materials in a brewer thing with mesh on the bottom to filter out the leaves/flowers/etc..

    Go to Teavana for an idea of what I speak of…
    http://www.teavana.com/

    Long live rudee

Leave a Reply

