This Pertains to My Interests

This image has nothing to do with the brunch you are about to receive, but I took it on Saturday night on my date with Justin. It is the closest thing we get to "big sky" in our hood. Don't laugh at me if you are from Colorado.

This image has nothing to do with the brunch you are about to receive, but I took it on Saturday night on my date with Justin. It is the closest thing we get to "big sky" in our hood. Don't laugh at me if you are from Colorado.

So this weekend, my brother, his friends, and his ridiculously nice camera came for a visit. You might ask,”Was he apartment hunting because he is moving here shortly?” No such luck. Yet. But I feel like we are making strides in the right direction.

Most of the trip was a series of mishaps and getting caught in the rain, but at least brunch didn’t let us down. Six of us trudged up to northern Andersonville, or “Wisconsin” as Justin would say, and waited for about 6 hours in 90 degree heat/steam before being seated. We were eventually lead to a table on the patio directly in the sun, in the same heat that we just waited in for 27 hours. On the bright side, a constant stream of condensation from our water glasses dripped on our legs, and Amber guzzled an iced coffee the size of her torso.

Sounds great, right? Well when the food arrived, all was forgiven. Just look at it!

Summer peach & almond bostock french toast: Two thick slices of home made almond crusted brioche french toast, layered with warm syrah poached summer peaches and vanilla creme anglaise.

Summer peach & almond bostock french toast: Two thick slices of homemade almond crusted brioche french toast, layered with warm syrah poached summer peaches and vanilla creme anglaise.

Let's just see that again.

Let's just see that again.

I am telling you, I am more of a savory breakfast person, but this is one of the best things I have ever eaten before noon.

I am telling you, I am more of a savory breakfast person, but this is one of the best things I have ever eaten before noon. I wish I could send this through your computer screen so you could taste it.

Casey's key lime and apricot brioche french toast: Three thick slices of french toast layered with homemade lime curd and fresh apricot.

Casey's keylime and apricot brioche french toast: Three thick slices of french toast layered with homemade lime curd and fresh apricot.

The awesome thing about having a six person brunch is getting to try all the other dishes that you were pondering on the menu. I had blackberry blisscakes, mango & sour cherry blisscakes, huevos borrachos, and my good friends–home fries.

We signed our bill just as the storm hit the patio, we congratulated each other on our perfect timing, then we ran/waddled to our buses and declared brunch a victory.

If you would like to try these delightful dishes, and you live within 10 hours of Chicago, go to M Henry on Clark. You will not be disappointed.

5 responses to “This Pertains to My Interests

  1. Wow, that sure looks good!

  2. I told you M Henry was super delicious! I’m glad you agree. 🙂

  3. yumalum!

  4. OMG! Please guide us there when we come back from OZ for a visit with you next time!

Leave a Reply

