Review: South Andersonville Organic Lemonade Stand

If I am walking home from my train after work, there are likely a number of things swimming around in my head. These range from personal financial issues, lists of things that I need to take care of, what to make for dinner, and the many creative projects that I would like to kick-off at some point. And sometimes I’m thinking about babies, kittens, and cupcakes. All these things can distract me from just enjoying what is going on right at that moment.

But then again, there are certain scenes or happenings that I come across during my day which can instantly pull me out of my jumbled mind and shoot me straight into the here and now.

The bills, lists, and worries are gone in a second, and suddenly all I can think about is LEMONADE. HAND SQUEEZED ORGANIC LEMONADE. And the cookies are on sale! FREE cookies with purchase of LEMONADE! The owner of the stand obviously recommends the cookies by evidence of chocolate smudge on said owner’s chin.

I <3 my neighborhod.

Norman Rockwell, eat your heart out.

091109_2091109_3091109_4

The lemonade was a bit pricier than other stands in the neighborhood, but I would dare say it was worth a dollar. The hand-painted sign and the bright colors of the tablecloth and umbrella really set the mood. And a free cookie?! Yes. This wasn’t any powder-and-water or from-concentrate lemonade, either. It was the real thing.

Sidenote: The owner has a striking resemblance to the subjects of one of my favorite photos. (Scroll down to yellow tutu princess)

4 responses to “Review: South Andersonville Organic Lemonade Stand

  1. Megan – You always take such good pictures! I have been thinking about buying a digital slr and getting into photography. Being a complete novice when it comes to this art is there a camera you would recommend? I have no clue what to look for, what price to expect to pay, etc. I’m not going to be doing weddings on the weekends or anything, just the ability to take nice pics and use Aperature on my imac. Any thoughts?
    On a related note, whenever I see lemonade stands I can’t help but think of the saying, “When life hands you lemons, make lemonade.” I recently heard a follow-up to this adage: “But if life doesn’t also hand you water and sugar, your lemonade is really going to suck.” It sounds like this little capitalist had the whole package! Love the post!

    • I use a Canon Rebel Xsi. It is great if you want something fancy, but not too fancy. I think there is a new version of this camera that just came out. It might even have video! Good luck.

  2. I’m lazy about leaving comments (how hypocritical, I know!), but I just want you to know I love your blog.

    And a free cookie? Who could possibly pass that up?

  3. Oh my god I love this so much.

Leave a Reply

