Juice, Glorious Juice

Remember grade school, when you were standing in a lunch line with a pastel fiberglass tray? You were likely shuffling alongside a dingy semi-gloss wall of cinderblock, plastered with posters about Being all that you can be, or how to save someone from choking on a Salisbury steak, or the wonderful info-graphic that we are all supposed to live by: The Food Pyramid.

You had seen said Pyramid a million times by the age of 10. Even so, when you get to the front of the lunch line, you pile your tray high with fries, pizza, an over-sized chocolate chip cookie, and maybe some iceberg lettuce with carrot shreds, with a generous heap of ranch dressing. If you didn’t bring a packed lunch to school, then you were pretty much guaranteed to be biting off the top of the pyramid as well as nibbling off a bottom corner. The poor neglected middle.

Some of us get older, then fatter, then wiser, and we learn that to feel good, and survive, we need to take the whole pyramid into account. I don’t claim to eat a perfect pyramid everyday, but I am trying to eat more fresh stuff when possible.

It is also nice to try and get vitamins from somewhere besides a pill.

Hence, I have welcomed a new buddy into my home. Meet the juicer:

092909_3092909

Best fruit I have drank. (drunk?)

Best fruit I have drank. (drunk?)

4 responses to “Juice, Glorious Juice

  1. Official proof I’m older than you: I grew up with the “Four Food Groups” instead of the food pyramid.

    I’ve always wanted to know: does freshly juiced fruit retain fiber?

  2. I just got home from the Lincoln Square F.M. with a bag of Honey Crisps and a half gallon of fresh cider. Love. Love. Love.

  3. I think it contains a bit, BUT it is more about the nutrients than the fiber of the fruit when juicing:

    “Plus, since juicing removes the indigestible fiber, these nutrients are available to the body in much larger quantities than if the piece of fruit or vegetable was eaten whole. For example, because many of the nutrients are trapped in the fiber, when you eat a raw carrot, you are only able to assimilate about 1% of the available beta carotene. When a carrot is juiced, removing the fiber, nearly 100% of the beta carotene can be assimilated.”

    http://www.living-foods.com/articles/benefits.html

  4. I am so so happy for you and your juice parties! I was madly in love with mine within first purchase, but sadly haven’t been juicing weekly like I had originally wanted. Perhaps you have inspired me! I have a strong urge for some kale & apple juice right now.

Leave a Reply

