Peck of Purple Peppers

People, it is getting cold outside. And the sun is dipping way too close to the horizon during my commute home. In less than a month it will be pitch black when I arrive at my doorstep around 6 p.m.

Knowing that I won’t be able to see ANYTHING during my commute for the next six months, I am stocking up on imagery of growing stuff while I still can. These are from my bus stop on Wacker Drive yesterday.

Tiny purple peppers. Soon to be replaced by evergreens in the planters along the drive.

Tiny purple peppers. Soon to be replaced by evergreens in the planters along the drive.

Reminds me of Monsoon Wedding. These marigolds are living their last days, and will be replaced by piles of snow soon enough.

Reminds me of Monsoon Wedding. These marigolds are living their last days, and will be replaced by piles of snow soon enough.

Let this one burn into your retinas, people. Enjoy the blooms before they go.

Let this one burn into your retinas, people. Enjoy the blooms before they go.

If you are looking for me today, I will be at Daley Plaza, crying into a pile of Honeycrisp apples. Maybe I will buy some pumpkin whoopie pies from the Amish stand to ease my pain. And maybe some cider. And a caramel apple. And some peanut brittle.

On second thought, who am I kidding? Cold weather means food galore. I will trade my blossoms for butter. My sunlight for the oven light. Who needs the warmth of summer when you can have pie? Yes, I will be thrilled when spring is here again. I will once again flip out when I see the first sprout. But for now, I think I am ready to say my goodbyes.

2 responses to “Peck of Purple Peppers

  1. I’m loving the colors…

  2. Megan:

    Just love your “brilliant” purple peppers & flowers photos. Hope you don’t run into the purple people eater!

    Here’s are photos of some of the amazing flowers gracing our neck of the woods, on the other side of the world — at “Floriade” in Canberra. Carole Anne and I took these shots there this past Saturday: http://tinyurl.com/yj9lhx5

    Also of significance, http://plantwhateverbringsyoujoy.com/?p=1800 is somebody else’s daughter’s beautiful story and delightful commentary on changes in the seasons — and flowers. I am very impressed with the art work & graphics, as well, and imagine you will be, too!

    Love,
    Your Dad

Leave a Reply

