16 Week Guacamole

Every week, thousands of pregnant woman receive communication from websites they have signed up for. The email/text/app tells them what to expect from their bodies that week, as well as how the baby is developing at that stage. In almost all the updates, the baby is compared to a fruit or vegetable, just to show you how large he/she is by that week.

I just hit the 16 week mark yesterday (4 months for those of you who don’t speak in weeks). Baby Boley has just passed the avocado size this week. (Yes, I am aware that I am more melon sized than avocado, and no, I don’t believe twins are in there.)

But seriously, food is for eating, and I am not totally on board with it showing up in my prenatal updates. So I have decided to put food in its place. My mouth. This week, guacamole was a no-brainer. Especially on Superbowl sunday. Stay tuned for next week’s recipe that will feature a large onion. And if you hang around until July, you will get a lovely watermelon or pumpkin recipe.

I didn’t make this one up on my own, but I did add some cumin to the mix. If you are even slightly a fan of guac, I highly recommend this top recipe from All Recipes:

Guacamole by Bob Cody.

EDIT: It has come to my attention that this may be considered creepy–eating a food that is supposed to be your baby. Hmmm. Not what I intended, but I think I am going to stick with the recipe thing regardless. Don’t be scared!

5 responses to “16 Week Guacamole

  1. This is such a good idea. I really love it and can’t wait to see what happens when you get into like week 35 — Suckling Pig maybe? OR a really nice 5lb Chilean Sea Bass?

    Seriously excited to follow along. Good luck 🙂

  2. These pictures are seriously adorable. I’m jealous that I didn’t think of it!

  3. i LOVE that you are did this! my husband and i have been documenting our second child’s pregnancy growth by having him draw the given fruit/veggie onto my stomach and i was shocked that i couldnt find anything like it that people had already done. i was so excited to see that someone else had decided to take advantage of the whole idea. and i think its hilarious that you eat it!

Leave a Reply

