17 weeks Turnip Bump “Glump”

Welcome to week 17 of the my maternity/food series. If you missed last week’s edition, check it out here.

This week, the What-To-Expect-Baby-Bump-Circus emails suggested that the baby was now the size of a large onion or turnip (or a bit over 5 inches long from head to bum). Unfortunately, I have my groceries delivered, and this week the produce was a bit on the small side, so let’s all pretend that objects in this photo shoot are larger than they appear. Except my cheeks, in which case you can obviously tell the camera adds 10 lbs…ahem.

I love my little apron. It is actually my husband’s grandmother’s nanny’s apron. It is in pretty good shape for being an antique. I love the little characters stitched along the bottom:

Oh, onion skins. I can’t resist an onion pic. If you have been here for a while you already know how I feel about these luminous bits that we all throw in the trash. Even though I discarded them as usual, the least I can do is give their image a permanent home on the internet:

Porpus, director of maternity and food photography, much preferred the week 16 shoot. She is not a huge fan of onions. Clearly.

So what did I make from the turnip and onion? Well, it started off as being a dish that resembles vegetable Cornish pasties. It ended up more like something my mom would call a “Glump.” I know this sounds gross, but it is quite the opposite. We often had glumps when I was little. Tuna glumps to be specific. I know that sounds even grosser, but it is really just a pocket of rolled-out biscuit dough with a cheesy, gooey, savory filling.

My glump creation consisted of :

  • potatoes
  • turnips
  • onions
  • carrots
  • mushrooms
  • garlic
  • cheddar cheese
  • milk
  • egg
  • rosemary, sage, thyme
  • salt and pepper
  • refrigerated biscuit dough
  • and a wee bit of butter

They come out looking like fancy hot pockets. I decided to call them Bump Glumps, in honor of the belly.

The belly approved.

2 responses to “17 weeks Turnip Bump “Glump”

  1. What a cute photo series! And you are such a cute pregnant lady! 🙂

  2. Do you offer a recipe/instructions for the cooking-impared? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

