19 Week Grapefruit

It’s week 19. Almost halfway though. Time is going by very fast these days

This week the baby is 6 inches long from head to baby butt. So it is supposedly mango/grapefruit size. Mangoes are super gross this time of year, but grapefruits are a pretty safe bet. So that is what I am featuring this week. During my first trimester I ate at least one a day for a while, so of all the fruits and veggies that have been suggested as comparisons, this one is probably the most accurate. I am sure the baby’s genetic make up is no less than 50% grapefruit.

Which means baby will smell really good and be slightly pink in coloring.

What you see above, is this recipe for grapefruit basil salad*. It seems like an unconventional flavor combination, but it works surprisingly well. The balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper marinated the grapefruit, basil, chives and red onion. The result was a refreshing salad that should be eaten on a patio in the sun.

However, I ate it in the dark, inside my apartment with the heat blasting because I live in Siberia. I will have to try it again when Chicago becomes more like Florida during the mid-summer. Because I have a feeling that my pregnant self will not be using the oven much come June and July. Just a hunch.

*Important tip: If you make this, I suggest trying to slice the grapefruit like this. That way, you do not have to deal with the tough pithy membranes that I had in my salad.
5 responses to “19 Week Grapefruit

  1. Great! Did “Daddy” Boley get a special juiced-up version for his birthday?!

  2. Looking good baby Boley!

  3. Hi! I just wanted to tell you that you are probably THE most gorgeous pregnant person I’ve ever seen. You’re one hot mama-to-be! I mean, really, if you were seen from behind, I’d be willing to bet you wouldn’t even look pregnant. Not that I’m thinking about looking at you from behind…I’m not a weirdo or anything. But once you’ve been pregnant, you notice these things. I love your blog, and I’m so glad I found it. I have a 3 y.o. and we’re currently trying for #2. In fact, I might be with child as I sit here typing this. So seeing your belly on this post made me want to be creating a little one all the more! And your photographs are stunning! I guess what I’m saying is, I want to be you. Just kidding! Okay, only a little bit kidding…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

