Melt

On the way to the train yesterday, Justin and I had an argument about Spring. It is my favorite season, and because of my heightened awareness during that time of year, I am going to say I am more of an expert on Spring than he is. See, I am even capitalizing “Spring” because it is that important.

So, the argument was over the definition of Spring and when it starts. Justin was saying we are experiencing spring right now, just because it has gotten into the 40’s for a few days. I am not so easily fooled. This is March. In Chicago. She is a cruel mistress. I am happy about the warmer temps, but this doesn’t mean I am putting away the puffy coat and pulling out the green shoes just yet. When it is true Spring, you can smell it, feel it, hear it, and see it. I have about eleventy-million photos from Spring of last year, and what we are experiencing this week is just not it.

However, I’m willing to admit we are on the cusp of something. That is obvious. The snow is melting more each day, and everyone is restless. Things will begin to explode within a few short weeks, including the icy hearts of millions of Chicagoans. We will have made it though, and the city will have its annual spring freak out. It’s my absolute favorite time of year. I love having a May birthday, because it seems like a good time to reset the year. January is no time to celebrate New Years, and I propose we move it to Memorial Day weekend. Who is with me?

Last Friday, it was sunny out. Not warm, but definitely sunny and above 32 degrees. So I went to the park at lunch to inspect the scene. People were out and about, and many were ice skating. Sorry if you are into ice skating, but it is time we pack that crap up now. I want to see the rink melt and the patio set up.

The garden isn’t showing any life yet, but I still enjoyed the feeling of being almost there. It is amazing what a little sun can do. Anticipation is in the air.

We have melting! We have sun!

People will clamour for these precious tables in a few weeks. And look! Bean reflection in the melt.

I fell in love with these plants. I didn't expect to find anything so pretty in the park, since I assumed everything was dead.

My favorite nubbin was even shining bright.

5 responses to “Melt

  1. Haa! Bean reflect in the melt! I agree on all fronts with you that Spring is still absent and we should move new years to memorial day! Also, the bean looks spotless!

    Good post!

  2. A few things…

    1) The nubbin: This is a perfect word for it. What a weird architectural element.
    2) I’m wearing green flats today.
    3) I haven’t taken my camera out in a while — I just haven’t been inspired. Hopefully the warmer weather helps bring inspiration back. Kind of like sexy.

  3. What kind of camera do you have again? I forget.

  4. My camera hibernates in the winter too. There is simply nothing I want to remember about Michigan winter.

  5. I like to see you inspired. And taking photos again. Your photos make all of our days sunnier. And I’m with you on moving New Years to Memorial Day. In fact, I’m going to put it on the calendar and celebrate.

    P.S. Saw Alice in Wonderland tonight. Alice reminded me of you…

Leave a Reply

