24 Week Caesar Salad

(I am actually at Week 25 by now, but here is last week’s shoot.)

I had a foot long baby in my belly last week. So I found a head of Romaine that seemed to work as a good size comparison, but now I realize I have lost my chance to do a Subway 5-dollar-foot-long post.

My expression is less than joyful because I am having a hard time accepting the amount of weight that I’ve put on already. But that is another post for another day. Actually, that is a post I will never post. Because no one really cares, and everyone keeps saying that I look cute. I wish I could believe that myself.

What I am grateful for is a very uncomplicated and healthy pregnancy so far. And that I can grow a FOOT LONG BABY in under 25 weeks. Pretty awesome.

Porpus isn’t generally known for her positive attitude, but she is reminding me here that I am also extra squishy and cuddly. Which is to her liking. She also may have mentioned that it is most interesting to see the belly actually move when the baby kicks. All very true. Thanks, kitteh.

So, what do you do with a head of Romaine lettuce that is remotely interesting? Make Caesar Salad. I am not a fan of the creamy version of this recipe. I am more into the lemony/garlic/vinegar/olive oil version that I grew up with. My mom’s Caesar is the best. And here is her magic formula:

Megagood Mom’s Caesar Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire
  • 1 teaspoon  red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon of Dijon
  • 2 tablespoon pressed garlic
  • 3/4 cup olive oil

(shake, shake, shake)

This should easily make enough for two salads. All you have to do is pour it over your washed and torn bite-size bits of romaine lettuce.

But let’s NOT forget the croutons. They are key. Store-bought or restaurant croutons are gross in my opinion. I prefer ripped pieces of crusty wheat or multi-grain toast for this salad. They are easier to fork and have soaking properties that will do your salad good.

Now I need to head to the grocery and figure out what this week’s dish will be. Hopefully I will post before next weekend, because we are moving. Lots of boxes and general busy happenings around here. Week 26 will be shot in the new place!

2 responses to “24 Week Caesar Salad

  1. best. salad. ever. I want it right now.

  2. Thanks for sharing. I miss Caesar salad. I kinda lazy making salad since my pregnancy came out. 🙂 🙂 .. Congratulation on your pregnancy .

Leave a Reply

