Spring Lovelies (and Un-lovlies)

You know what’s fun? Procrastinating when you should be packing! So I thought I would post some photos that need to live somewhere other than my memory card.

One of the pleasures of being pregnant is experiencing mood swings. This is not typical to my personality, so I am living through vastly different emotions from one day to the next for the first time.

Here is a list of things that are lovely right now, and general contribute to a great mood. There is also a list of things that I find hateful most days. And they should be avoided at all costs.

Lovelies:

  • Spring!
  • Commuting home in the warm sun.
  • New things growing out of the ground.
  • Parfaits. From Catch and Carry, Baci, Rom, Starbucks, or Starfruit. Yes.
  • Dessert.
  • Fruit.
  • Being in the park.
  • Sleeping through the night on occasion.
  • Thinking about the new apartment.
  • Thinking about meeting the baby.
  • Talking about the baby with Justin.
  • Spotting strollers.
  • Baby kicks.
  • Our once a week date.
  • Bedtime.
  • Tea.
  • Meals with friends.
  • Leaving the building for lunch.
  • Sleeping in.
  • Not wearing a coat.
  • Lemons.
  • Cats napping on the porch.
  • The days getting longer.
  • Having moments of clarity where I realize how lucky I am.
  • Taking pictures during the magic hour.
  • Clearing the memory card after an upload.
  • The sunroof opened all the way in my car.
  • Green ballet flats.
  • Andersonville. (I will miss you)
  • When Justin comes home on the early train after night class.
  • Hearing how much he loves his job.
  • There are only a couple of weeks left of law school.
  • Words With Friends on iPhone. PLAY WITH ME. My name is Megagood.

UN-lovlies (AKA First-World Problems of a Preg):

  • When Spring disappears suddenly, due to living in Chicago.
  • Walking home from the train when it is cold and wet.
  • Wearing coats that don’t allow me to zip the belly up.
  • Gaining weight and having to ration parfait and Desserts.
  • Packing boxes.
  • Adding more things to the growing to-do list.
  • Justin has started a new habit of snoring after 7 years. I love you, husband, BUT I MIGHT SMOTHER YOU.
  • K, sorry. But you now also have some kind of coughing/wheezing habit. We have to fix this. SMOTHER.
  • Seriously, I think he has some kind of allergy that may be fixed with the move. But if not, there are two choices. Allergist or SMOTHERING. And I don’t want to be a single mom, so let’s settle this rationally. It makes me feel bad to be so irritated with someone’s suffering. But I can’t help it right now.
  • The vibrating chair that the landlord uses above us. The whole stupid house shakes.
  • The produce selection at Jewel
  • Telling people how I feel all the time. “Feeling great!” Actually, I feel fat and my hips hurt and I can’t sit or stand for very long. And I get out of breath from walking up to the train platform.
  • I haven’t slept through the night in months. And this will likely continue for months to come.
  • Being in a bad mood irritates me further. This is the worst.

3 responses to “Spring Lovelies (and Un-lovlies)

  1. Hugs, not stabs!

  2. You’ve got the pregnancy insomnia, huh? I’m so sorry. When suffering from lack of sleep,it is hard to find anything good in the world…but your happy list is longer than your mad list – yay!

Leave a Reply

