Worry Not

These are Worry Dolls. Have you heard of them? Here, let me google that for you.

My friend, Casey, brought these back for me after a trip. I used to have a tiny bag of them when I was little, only they were the really mini-version.

The concept is this: assign a specific worry that you have to a doll, and tuck her in under your pillow at night, so that she has deal with that worry and you can sleep peacefully. What a great concept. They are the poor man’s Ambien. A great idea for kids, although I think pregnant ladies in the third trimester could really benefit from these as well.

How many times have you been lying in bed, just wishing you could halt your thoughts, anxieties, or to-do lists so you could just fall asleep? Why is it so hard to keep the mind from racing? I’m sure there is some kind of meditation for this problem that I don’t know how to do at the moment.

My biggest worry right now is something that is completely out of my control. A pointless anxiety. I would gladly give it to a little doll to worry about, because she will have as much luck as anyone in changing the course of events that would relieve this anxiety. I hope she doesn’t have a tiny panic attack. But then again, she is made for this kind of thing. I’m sure she’ll be able to handle it. Best of luck with my worry, little one. I am done with it.

I guess that I am doing pretty well if I am only tucking in this one doll. When there is a whole pile of them under there, then it may more of a concern.

4 responses to “Worry Not

  1. I remember your little bag of worry dolls, Megan! And what you have there now is certainly a whole lot better than one of these:

  2. I used to make these all the time when I was a kid! Out of embroidery floss, toothpicks and glue. I totally forgot about them!

  3. awww!! A tiny panic attack!! haha that made me laugh. I’m glad you can unload your worries to the tiny dolls. They are made of special fabric that can absorb the BIGGEST worries 🙂

  4. I remember the tiny dolls from when I was a kid!! When Pier One was more of an international store–do you remember?????? I’m totally loving your blog btw, I found it from Emily at Joyful Abode. 🙂 Benton is *seriously* too cute!!!!

Leave a Reply

