My New Gig

Ladies and gentlefellows, I got a new job! Meet my boss:

Old man Benton. He may be small, but he clearly means business.

This week marks major changes for our tiny family. Monday was Justin’s first day at work as a salaried member of working society. It was also the day that I let my team at the office know that I am not returning to said working society.

We have decided that we can make this stay-at-home-mom thing happen for me.

How do I feel? LUCKY. Thrilled. Challenged. Nervous.

I know there are thousands of moms that would love to be in my position, but they have to return to work after the puny FMLA 12 weeks or even sooner. Their hearts are breaking during their first daycare drop-off, and possibly every drop-off after that. For this reason, I will remind myself daily NEVER to take this SAHM thing for granted. I really do know how lucky I am. When I got pregnant, I was the only breadwinner, and we didn’t imagine this would be possible. But things changed quickly.

There are also parents out there who are quite happy to return to their careers when their parental leave is over. They have great things going for them at work, and would go completely nuts if they had to stay home. They are providing a good life for their family with every paycheck that goes in the bank. It turns out that I’m just not one of these people, but have a lot of respect for the working parent that makes it all happen.

Will I miss my job as an art director at a big huge agency? No. Not at all actually. I’m sure there is someone out there who will be more than happy to replace me.

I will miss the people a lot, but that is about it.

Will I miss the commute? NO. Dumb question.

When is the next baby coming, now that I am staying at home? I CAN’T believe I have been asked this already.*

*I also can’t believe I am not scared or offended by it. But seriously. Give me a second.

Since I do have some design skills that lend themselves to being a WAHM someday, that may come into play at some point. But for now? SAHM is all I can handle.

And like any new employee, I am still getting the feel of things here in my new role. Hopefully the boss goes easy on me. Luckily, I hear he naps a lot and has a short memory. I predict that my self-appraisals will be much harsher than those from my supervisor.

——–

In other news, we went on another road trip to see my mom in my hometown of Kalamazoo last weekend. Benton and his dad explored a backyard for the first time. NATURE!

Tiny feet touch tiny blades of grass for the first time. Click the photo to see more.

———

And in other other news, I have committed to blogging every day for the month of September. Like in the old days. So stay tuned and let me have it if you don’t see anything new up here on a daily basis.

32 responses to “My New Gig

  1. Congrats on the new job! πŸ™‚ Your new boss is so much cooler-looking than mine.

  2. Oh, congratulations! That is really awesome.

    I am home on vacation this week, sending my oldest off to Kindergarten. This week is making me ACHE to be home with my kiddos. Hopefully someday we will be able to make it happen.

    Congrats again! Your boss looks very employee friendly. πŸ™‚

  3. I’ll definitely miss seeing you around the office, but the promised daily blog updates will assist with all of our Megan Boley deprivation symptoms.

    May your new boss not throw up all over your hard work, crap on your ideas or cry in his office. Too much.

  4. Congratulations! It’ll be awesome. (Also, thank you so much for not taking your situation for granted – I so so so wish I could be in your position, but alas. Perhaps I can live vicariously through you.)

    Your boss is awesome and has delightfully squishy elbows. I am looking forward to your September posts!

  5. congratulations!!

    even as i love my miniscule design job i am so very jealous. some days i wish i could stay home, other days i like being useful. if ever one of us were to be a stay-at-home parent it would not be me, it would be jon.

    this will be great for you, you seem so so happy about it and you should be! hooray and awesomesauce!

    • Thanks! I am super happy about it.
      It is great that you love your job. I was just not in this boat. But being a designer I might do some work at home someday and be my own boss when Benton gets sick of hanging out with me.

  6. Good for you, Megan! I’m still wrestling with the idea of being a WAHM or re-joining salaried working society after baby gets here. Your attitude of embracing this change is hugely encouraging.

  7. I have said it before, but I’ll say it again, you are a blessed woman! Your new boss seems very nice too, it will be a good change for you πŸ™‚
    I am one of those people going back to agency work as you know, but I am coming to terms with facing the facts. We are a two-income household, but our daughter will not be loved any less. Whatever path our lives should take, we need to be confident that our choices are the right ones. As long as we do that, we can ask for nothing more, nothing less!

  8. I am so, so happy for you. (And maybe just a little bit jealous.)

    Old man Benton is going to keep you on your toes, missy. You’d better believe it.

    Looking forward to more posts! xoxo

  9. Congratulations. As my maternity leave is coming to an end I think often about what it would be like to stay home with my babe. I know I would love to spend that time with her but I am craving big time to get back to work. My thoughts on it change every day! Enjoy your new fabulous job!!

    • I think that as a moms we can only make the right decisions for our family. It is almost impossible not to. You know? So that being said, you will know what to do when the time comes. Thanks for hosting the blogathon!

  10. Congratulations! It’s your turn to be supported for a while – you’ve been working hard for the whole law school stretch! I am more than a little jealous, but who knows, maybe if and when I have another I can trade bosses too…

    Doubt it though.

    Oh, and the header is fab. Love it.

    • I would love nothing more than to 1: hear you are having another. 2: that you are working for yourself as a fabulous freelance writer, or just being a SAHM. I have a good feeling about both these things.

  11. First, I love love love your blog and enjoy reading about your new baby boy and wanted to congratulate you on the transition into being a SAHM.

    Second, what a small world it is … I had to do a double-take when you said you’re from Kalamazoo .. ????? My husband and I live in Paw Paw, just outside of Kalamazoo and I went to WMU for my undergrad and currently commute to Kazoo to downtown for my new job — what a big ginormous cyberspace we have and what a koowinkydink you’re from the ‘Zoo!!

    Stop on over and visit my blog: http://thorntonfamilymoments.blogspot.com/

  12. LOVE the new header, hilarious, cute, well designed and so you. I hope that serious old man makes your days a whole lot less serious and fun. Enjoy your new role Mama! So happy for you!

    P.S How did hubz first day go?

  13. He does sound like a tough new boss…Congrats!! I wish we could swing it…

    I loved the first time Boo touched grass, she cried. Hated how it felt on her feet, but that was a really dry summer.

    • He wasn’t super thrilled about the grass, but then again he doesn’t look thrilled about anything. I am hoping that will change with time. I CRAVE more smiles.

  14. i was kind of wondering and wanted to ask but then didn’t want to ask, you know? i am really happy for you. really really happy.

  15. I am so happy and excited and thrilled for you. Being a SAHM is really the best gig in the universe, in my opinion. Congrats! And your boss is totally cute, by the way πŸ™‚

  16. Congrats on being a stay at home mom. The best thing about it is you actually love your boss!

    I and so thankful for being able to stay at home. It’s really such a great thing. πŸ™‚ Enjoy every moment!

  17. the art directors of said working society will miss the random cat postings in the office hallways, lunching in the park at the start of spring and the trips to Macy’s for sushi, salad, and purses.

    That said- so thrilled for you and the family that you get to do this!!! You are right where you are supposed to be. Peace out dielines!

  18. I’m so happy for you. And I’m also really happy that you know how lucky you are.

  19. Cool beans ;o) Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

