Pretty, Witty and YAY!

Four years ago, we shared one of the best days of our lives.

This morning we woke up together with a smiling baby nestled between us. It’s hard to fit more love into a queen size bed. Really. There is no room at the inn. *enter 20lb cats

Before he left this morning, Justin wished me a happy anniversary and handed me a little brown paper bag with these inside:

There are a thousand reasons why this is awesome. The main one is that he was incredibly thoughtful to buy these for me. He knew I wanted these earrings for a year and would never buy them for myself. I saw them at the Renegade Art Fair last year, and then pointed them out to Justin a few weeks ago at the Glenwood Street Art Fair. He secretly went back and got them for me.

To all of you who get presents for birthdays, holidays, and anniversaries, this pair of earrings may not seem like anything special. Whoop de do, he got you a gift for your anniversary. But since we have been dating (7+ years) I haven’t been on the receiving end of many gifts from the husband simply because I was the only one with an income. I don’t expect anything and don’t usually care. So I was so taken aback by these precious little things which he knew were so perfectly me in every way.

They inspired me to get dressed in more than yoga pants and spend time putting on makeup today. I realized that I haven’t felt pretty in MONTHS. My face got really swollen and jankity during pregnancy, and it’s just now getting back to recognizable for me. So I have been a little camera-shy.

But today? I felt pretty. And effortlessly happy.

My body may not be back to normal, but my self-image is slowly creeping out of from under the fridge. And all it took was these pretty little earrings to remind me that Benton isn’t the only one that is allowed to be cute around here.

Thank you, sweet husband. I LOVE them. ❤

15 responses to “Pretty, Witty and YAY!

  1. Happy Anniversary! You look beautiful, with or without your earrings, but I completely understand how amazing the gift and the gesture behind it was. That husband is a keeper.

  2. Money’s been tight with us for, oh, ever, so I can TOTALLY imagine how much a gift like this means to you. Also? I took a long, long time for me to feel pretty again after being pregnant.

    In fact, I’m still working on that.

  3. You’re stunning! Then and now! I LOVE those earrings!!!!!

  4. this is beautiful. all of it.
    the earrings.
    the apparent love among the three of you.
    and YOU.

  5. beautiful earrings, beautiful story and a more-than-ever gorgeous YOU!

  6. You are lovely! We can’t wait to see you both.

  7. Happy Anniversary!

    He did so good, man, I am green with envy for your green earrings, they are so unique and beautiful.

    I love that you have been honest about all your body image struggles, and it’s been awesome to watch you grow in this area, come back to {love} for yourself.
    You are gorgeous, and this new confidence makes you even more beautiful.
    It looks so good on you. 🙂

  8. okay. so super sweet. a) LOVE your wedding dress. like “i’m tempted to get married again (to my man) and steal your dress b) LOVE the earrings and props to your husband c) you look BEAUTIFUL in those last shots, and babywearing is so perfect, isn’t

    have a lovely weekend!

    Abra

  9. Happy Anniversary. 🙂

    You look pretty and not much older than me… so I should totally have a baby now. It seems like a good idea.

    PS (I’m the one who commented saying I had a dream, many years ago, about a baby with a similar name as Benton, he makes me want to have babies)

  10. I love this post! How special that he remembered the earrings! And you, are beautiful my dear. I meant to say something after we met in person but I didn’t want to be that creepy new friend haha. You just have this glow about you, and I know you feel self-conscious about some things after having a baby but trust me you look gorgeous. 🙂

  11. I hope you had a great anniversary! You looked absolutely gorgeous, and I love the earrings. My husband has started buying me gifts off of Etsy and it makes me so happy.

  12. Happy Anniversary! I love this post for so many reasons. The thoughtfulness of your husband, the sweetness of how things change in 4 years, and your comments on a post-baby body imagine. All of them are just beautiful thoughts!

  13. I’ve been reading (and definitely enjoying :-D) your blog for a few months through my Google Reader. It’s always interesting to me to see how everyone adjusts to a baby, since we will hopefully be having our own in the next few years.
    Anyway, I have a random question for you. lol Do you have naturally curly hair? And if so how do you get your bangs to look so nice? I have very curly (not tight ringlets, but otherwise completely curly – not just wavy) hair and I would love to try something new. My husband doesn’t really want me to go short, but I think bangs would be something fun to try. I haven’t had them since I was in elementary school and the “mall bangs” were in style. I rocked those since I had so much volume, but I would love for mine to look just like yours.

    • Thanks for reading! I have naturally curly hair, but it is the type that sort of loses its curl the more I touch it. So for the bangs I just kind of brush them straight while they are wet or use a straightening iron to smooth them.

  14. They are perfect! Oh, for real. Also, @sarahviola & I were at the renegade craft fair last year. I was hoping to go this year but I don’t think it’s going to work out so.

    I hope you’ve had a great week.

    Steph

Leave a Reply

