Sleepwake

Last night, during the early morning feeding, Benton grabbed and held my hand. Probably by accident, but it was sweet. In this half-dream half-awake state, I suddenly felt connected to everyone else that was up caring for a baby. Like his hand was their hand. This doesn’t make a whole lot of sense now that I am fully awake and typing it out. But in that limbo of sleepwake, it felt real. A calm understanding washed over me.

6 responses to “Sleepwake

  1. I’ve never thought about it that way. 🙂 I have noticed that when I have a long night with Lucas most of those around me with children are also having long nights. (as if our kiddos get up and blog to each other secretly)

  2. That is such a sweet thought. But in a weird way, all us new mommies are in this together!

  3. The Weddington Adventures

    Gotta give a huge….awwwwwwwww! Human connection is such a wonderful thing. Enjoy it.

  4. that is sweet!! you are actually in my list of people i think about when i’m nursing lucy in those early morning hours. 😉

  5. I love this. That is something my midwife actually said to me when my very first baby was just days old. This idea of the world out there, those of us up with babies in the middle of the night…another woman told me recently she would look across the street from her upper flat and see a light on at 3am at the apt of another family with a new baby and would feel solidarity.

    Such a lovely concept. I love it. (love your blog, by the way.)

  6. i agree, there’s a special sort of solidarity in parents of babies. we’re all kind of in this together.

Leave a Reply

