Just Did It

I felt so good today. I didn’t have any of those nervous new mom moments with the little man. Things just came naturally to me, and we moved through the day with ease.

I didn’t have to think about how to get him into the ring sling. It didn’t take more than a couple of seconds, and I didn’t use a mirror. My body and mind had memorized the process. And I just did it.

I didn’t need to carefully orchestrate the order I needed to do things to get him in and out of the car. I just did it.

There were no worries about getting him ready quickly before we left the house. I just did it.

I wasn’t nervous about feeding him around other people. WE just did it.

When he needs something, I have it.

When he sees my face, he knows who I am and responds with a grin if I am lucky.

Since I finally felt like I knew what I was doing all day, I’m starting to feel like a good mom. Whatever that means. I want to try some new things with him this week that push beyond the boundaries of my comfort zone. Because I should take advantage of this confidence, before he kicks my butt with some new stage I haven’t figured out yet.

What should we do?

—-

I am posting the following pictures that my mother-in-law took during their visit last weekend because I owe Justin some blog love and JUST LOOK AT THE CUTE>

12 responses to “Just Did It

  1. Congrats!! That must be such an amazing feeling! And I’m sure it will happen a thousand more times. 🙂

  2. It’s amazng how great it feels when you finally get it. I remember how nervous I was for so long and then one day it just clicked and I had it. 🙂

  3. OH MY GOD he’s so adorable. Look at that smile!

    Megan, you are a FANTASTIC Mom.

  4. Oh those pictures are beyond adorable! What a cutie!

    Yay for feeling so confident in your day! I always wonder why we put so much pressure on our selves. Must be how we are wired. I blogged recently about transformation and how it isn’t about perfection but progress. That is a daily reminder I will give myself about being a parent for sure! Hug!

  5. Yay!

    I remember hitting that moment when I took Olivia out for errands one day. I got home and realized I’d managed her, the carseat, the wrap and all my shopping without thinking twice or any worry. It was such a huge moment of pride and “I can do this.”

    *high five*

  6. well, i finally know what makes the senator smile. so cute 🙂

  7. The new DOO looks great. Sort of like his Grampy’s hairline. How great to see his smile! I can feel the love Justin’s showing in these pics.

Leave a Reply

