GWYG Parenting

For being such an over-researcher by nature, I am shocked that I haven’t done more reading about parenting just yet. Maybe that will kick in sometime. Maybe not.

My game plan thus far has been Go With Your Gut (GWYG) parenting. The only things this parenting philosophy requires are a bit of confidence, a healthy amount of patience for the trial-and-error method, and a support system to tell you “Good job, mama. You get a gold star.” Sometimes it requires wine. And dirty hair. I realize this may sound like an ignorant way to do things since we live in the age of a million-and-one how-to-raise-your-baby books. But to that I say? Meh.

Luckily, Benton has been super healthy and not an unusually fussy guy as far as I know. So the first four months haven’t been that difficult for me. My heart is growing bigger by the day, and I am really enjoying this new little person that the baby is growing into. My guess is that he wants lots of brothers and sisters, so he has decided to be an easy-going first kid in order to make way for the other littles that will come after him.

So much is new. Every day. I would rather keep my eyes on him, than in a stack of parenting books for now.

And, just look! He is doing fine:

Don't worry, the old man faces still come out on a regular basis.

13 responses to “GWYG Parenting

  1. i’m impressed that you have this go with the flow attitude with the first–i am just now learning this with the second. 🙂 i read the baby books with the first and all it did was add stress. GWYG should be everyone’s take. 🙂

    and oh my gosh, he is looking like such a little, adorable man!

  2. That last shot of him next to pumpkin? PERFECTION.

    After Isobel was born I lost my natural librarian urge to over-research. I’m a fellow go-with-your-gut kinda girl.

    Sweet baby Picard jesus I hope this posts.

  3. He is so adorable! And your parenting plan is the best one around. Reading parenting books has only confused me thus far.

  4. Why so serious little manbaby?!? Still adorable, though!

  5. Oh my gosh he is so cute!! That little baby belt is almost too much for my heart! 🙂

  6. Seriously, this child is sweetness on a stick. I want to eat him up on a piece of shortcake with strawberries (did I just scare you, thinking I’m some psycho that wants to eat your kid?). And that old man face? I want to force Ezra to make that immediately upon his arrival into this world in t-minus 4 weeks. Benton is the man.

  7. Oh, and I think you should write a book about your parenting philosophy because it’s the best one I’ve ever heard of.

  8. Cracking. Up. At the pumpkin/Benton picture. Just perfect.

  9. I’m so like you. I’m a go with your gut parent-er. Why? Because none of those authors have raised MY kid. It’s true.

  10. Oh my goodness, BABY BELT. He is so precious. And go with your gut, the books will just make you crazy! We do have the Dr. Sears Baby Book on hand for times when we want to reference a medical thing, but that’s it.

  11. He looks like SUCH a little man with that belt on! I just love that!! 😀

  12. DON’T PICK UP THE PARENTING BOOKS. They just freaked me out and made me think I was somehow a horrible parent for not catching my guy’s magic “sleep window” every 2 hours. They are all made of speculation and false conviction. Your gut knows how to parent more than any stupid so-called “expert” does. Keep up the awesome job!

Leave a Reply

