Breaking the Doodle

I was reading this post from Erin at swonderland yesterday.

Then I took a nap.

I guess that post got things marinating in my mind because I woke up with a manic desire to start creating again. I have had the soul of a Creative since I was a wee one. Certain points in my life have definitely been more productive in this realm than others, but it is always with me. I continue to ride the wave of inspiration through the highs and lows.

Yesterday, I felt the familiar rise of the wave. It is like a shot of adrenaline and I can feel my eyes move quickly, mind race with possibility, and heart beat faster. I started brewing all kinds of ideas until I feel like bursting.

But this time? It was different. When I was working a full-time job as a paid Creative, that took a lot out of me. I had ideas for personal projects that I wanted to create, but was never able to put 100% into them because, well? I was working. I was drained.

Now? I still have a full-time job, but it is not billable by the hour, and I am not paid to be creative. SO GUESS WHAT. I am not wasting this valuable creative energy on things I don’t necessarily have a heart for. I can do what ever I want.

WHATEVER. I. WANT.

Sweet fancy Moses.

I got out my sketch books. I found my doodles from when I was a commuter on the train. The lines shaky from the wheels on the tracks.

I can’t wait to bring these pages to life. I am breaking out of the doodle.

13 responses to “Breaking the Doodle

  1. HOORAY!!!!! I have 8 kajillion arts and crafts supplies and a whole basement studio, COME BE MY NEIGHBOR! 🙂

    (And even if you can’t come be my neighbor then I will gladly watch as you create create create and share. :))

  2. Yay! I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  3. for all the “finished” pieces in the word, there’s something so sweet about doodles.

  4. Do I love your doodles. They are EXCELLENT.

    Doodles = limited edition prints.

  5. woohoo!!! it’s always ALWAYS good to be creative. so glad you can do it freely now 🙂

  6. Go Megan! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  7. Good for you! Ahhh, to be able to do it just for fun…

  8. From the title, “Breaking the Doodle”… I was bracing myself for an article on Benton’s BM’s. How delighted I was to see and read the content. What a gift you have Megan! I’ve only known you a short time and, watched it grow since you were fifteen years old. I’m confident the freedom of restrictions will only create infinite possibilities for your art. Producing your art for the sheer joy of it, without constraint, is freeing indeed. Your earlier piece, created for your Senior year, using bubbles came to mind while viewing your images. It was one of my favorites.

  9. It’s so nice to regain something that’s all for you, for your mental health and well-being, for your pure enjoyment. You are UBER talented, my friend, so you’ve got to jump into this with both feet. Well, you don’t HAVE TO but I know I’d sure love to see what’s in that creative mind of yours. Because mine is full of everything BUT creative endeavors. If I drew you something, you’d laugh at me…and I would totally laugh with you. Because it’d be totally whack, man.

  10. this post made me happy. and reminded me of doodled whiteboards and ad notes and staplers and creatures on your computer…

    🙂

  11. you are super awesome. no hyperbole.

  12. I’ve been trying to sketch and paint more too. Just finished a painting this weekend.

    Hope you don’t mind but I just downloaded one of these and made it my wallpaper. The mac looks cooler already.

    t

  13. just re-reading this post since i’ve been thinking about me lately and what i will be like when i’m a mom. i’m a dabbler (like your friend erin) and have grown to love it rather than be insecure about it. but i often wonder which part of me will come out the most once the babe arrives. hmm.

    anyway, back to my real point: i want to steal your doodles and call them my own. perhaps i shall break out the charcoal myself…bring back the art school days.

Leave a Reply

