Sweet Porpus

Goodbye, sweetest friend. I promise not to remember you as the sickly kitty you have become. You would not approve.

I will remember you as the fiery lady you always were.

Fiercely loving. Passionately cuddly. A brilliant nanny. The best “oh my god you are home” door greeter that a feline could be. A friend to Schween. Superfan of the sun. Adoring of your dad. Smart as a whip. Sweet and soft. Fat. Happy.

Thanks for being my first baby. I will love you always. I know you will find the sunniest spot to rest on your porch in the sky.

Goodbye, sweet girl. Mama misses you already.

29 responses to “Sweet Porpus

  1. Megan, this so sweet. A true tribute. You make the tears well up in my eyes for your loss. We are sorry you have to say goodbye to the physical Porpus, but she will always be with you.

  2. oh megan, this made me cry. i haven’t been on twitter recently so didn’t know things had got so bad although i knew she was unwell and had seen instagram photos of her. sending you virtual hugs from bristol. i have never had a cat but i can imagine it must be heartbreaking. at least you know she had a very, very good life and will no longer be in pain xx

  3. Oh, man. Hard to not have weepy eyes after reading that one.

    Porp is a sweet, yet fiesty kitty. She will be missed.

    Love to you all and so, so sorry for your loss. xoxo

  4. What a beautiful tribute for a beautiful girl.
    May she always have a sunbeam warming her sweet face.

  5. Hugs and love. Hugs and love.

  6. aw sad day!!! i can’t imagine losing my first born furry one. Hugs to you.

  7. 😦 poor everyone.

  8. So so many hugs today. xoxo

  9. I’m so sorry. This is so beautifully written, what a tribute to a beloved member of your family.

  10. 😦 😦 Brought a tear to my eye. There’s a special place in heaven for our sweet kitties, I just know it.

  11. so many hugs to you and your family, megan.

  12. I’m so sorry. I can only imagine how hard this is for you.

  13. Sweet, sweet Porpus. Hugs. xoxo

  14. So very sorry. Rest in peace, Porpus. ❤ Hugs.

  15. So sweet Megan. Sending you big hugs and kisses!

  16. This made me cry. 😦 Sweet, sweet Porpus. Thinking of you so very much today!! xoxoxo

  17. I am so very sorry for your loss…

  18. Kelly @kellynaturally

    ((hugs)) mama. It’s so hard to lose a furbaby. 😦 healing energy to you…

  19. I am so sad for you today.

  20. This made me cry. You’re a beautiful writer. I am so sad for you.

  21. Norpus, I’ll always remember you as a fiercely loyal hall monitor, pranorping at the slightest movement in order to protect your home. It was the sweetest thing to see you transform into super nanny for Benton. I’ll miss you and your little lazy eye!

  22. Oh, Megan. I’m so sorry. I’m bawling over here, because I’m a cat lady, and I know what your heart must be feeling right now. I wish I could come over and hug you, and bring you hot tea and just sit with you. I’m wishing my trip to Chicago would’ve worked out. Please know I’m thinking of you and sweet Porpus, your first baby and your loving companion.

  23. So so so sorry, Megan. 😦 I know just how you’re feeling right now.
    This is how I remembered my Indie girl when we let her go:
    http://mylbp.wordpress.com/2009/09/29/indie/

  24. Grandpa Clair

    She was your first furry baby indeed! Grief over the lost of our pets can be very deep and disorienting. (This http://pet-loss.net and this http://aplb.org/chat/chat_petloss.html are good resources for going through this.)

    Your own eloquent words and loving thoughts & memories about Porpus tugged deeply at my soul just now, Megan, and made it all even more real. Rest in peace, Porpus!

  25. I’m so sorry for your loss 😦

  26. I’m so sorry, guys. Thinking about you.

  27. I’m sorry Megan.

    I’m not even a pet person and this made me teary.

  28. Oh this is awful. I have been out of the loop and missed this horribly sad event
    😦 So sorry for your loss.

  29. Oh Megan, I’m so sorry. So. Very. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

