As I Was Saying

to just pick up in the middle of a sentence like I never stopped blogging. Right?

So.

I have a TODDLER.

A toddler who turned ONE last Sunday.

See, look. Obligatory cake picture:

He actually wasn’t as into the cake as I had hoped, but he will learn its goodness in time. What is he into?

BALLS. Bawwls. Balls? BAlls.

Can you see his little mouth all puckered and ready to blurt out “BAHWALL!” for the 892,347th time that day? He likes to say it a lot.

In fact, he thought it would be neat to wake us up at 5:45 a.m. saying “BALllll.” He sits up in bed like he’s just heard a burglar that just must be robbing him of his balls. Alert. He is immediately aware there are balls in the house that he must have. One happened to be in proximity to the bed, so he immediately decided we should have it IN the bed. “BALL.” So he threw it at us in true toddler-dodge-ball fashion. A joy and a delight. But a bit eaarrrrly. 

Our first few weeks of toddlerhood have been an explosion of NEW. He can understand what I am saying to him. He hugs me. He signs a few words that I JUST started teaching him. He squeals and runs to his DADA when he arrives home. There are so many sparks that I can see firing off in his little person mind, and it is exciting to watch.

How am I doing? In one sentence? I’m doing pretty well. Although, clearly, that could be expanded upon. More words are needed. More words, more words. I will write them here.

18 responses to “As I Was Saying

  1. One year already. Holy moly. OUR BABIES, WHERE ARE THEYYYY.

  2. just beautiful … and YES. i love that you totally started this post mid-sentence. perfect.

  3. he’s so… big. i feel as if his change happened extra-quickly.

  4. He is so stinking cute! I love his obsession with balls. Although I agree that 5:45 is a little early.

    I’m so glad that you are back to blogging!

  5. I’m glad you’re back and I could not love these photos more. xoxo

  6. It is a delight when babies/toddlers understand things because suddenly you no longer feel like you need to be in a padded room for talking to yourself for an entire year.

  7. whoa. i thought you retired. love the early morning game of toddler dodge ball (best description ever)
    also? balls.

  8. Love love love this. Having a one year old is CRAZY, eh? I still can’t get over it with Olivia. She’s my BABY but she’s WALKING and shouting DOG like her life depends on it.

    WHAT?

  9. Stinking cute. I can’t believe how big he’s getting!! So much fun.

Leave a Reply

